bad luck!!!!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!
Thank you so much for all your messages! it really means the world to me! the last few days have been very eventful. So you know how clumsy i am right? and how bad things always seem to happen to me? Well my bad luck obviously doesnt end just in North America! 2 days ago, i was at the school and lifting a bench and something bit me. Dont know what it was but instantly, my finger swelled like a balloon. I was terrified. I could hardly move it it was soooo swollen! the head mistress rushed me over and rubbed some sort of cream on it. Within the following hours the swelling did eventually go s\down, although movement was still somewhat difficult. Then, to top that one off, the next day, i was walking and fell down a hill. I skidded my entire right leg on the rocks and dirt. So my leg is now totally smashed up, from my lower leg all the way up to my butt. Some cuts are very deep. Dominique and two other volunteers we have become close with (Emmy and Rachel) have become my personal nurses and taking care of me, washing and bandaging the wounds. We try to cover all the open wounds as best we can because i am working with sick children all day long.
I think i was getting to used to the life here, and adapting too well. Something HAD to happen! I'm trying not to wash my right leg, because i am afraid of what the water well will do to the wounds. All i need now is some sort of infection. It isnt too difficult to keep dry, because we wash with by hand with a bucket. Its just a hassel to not get it wet.

Today, one of the little boys at school was really sick, and as we were getting their lunches ready, he got his little backpack and walked up the stairs onto the busy street. I have run so fast (even injured). I lunged for him, and practically got hit by a car myself. I brought him back down to the school and the head mistress beat him up so bad, that he peed all over himself. My heart was aching when i saw it. I stood in disbelief and just felt terrible for the little boy. His name is carriage, he is 3 years old, and just the sweetest little boy.

This weekend we are going to the beach, about two hours away. The bus rides are always ver eventful. They break down all the time, some dont have doors, no speed limits, dirt roads : great fun!

The family we are staying with are very nice. Linda is a single mom with a set of twins: vida and viana. Her nieces also live with us: dovener(13 years old) and Happy(8 years old) and abigail (9 years old). Her cosin fred (30 soimething) and her aunt pearl (40 something) AND HER OTHER COUSIN qUEEN (20 SOMETHING) we think that she is the one thaty stole $ and clothes from the other volunteers. It is a very tiny house with two rooms. We more or less all sleep together. Their house does not have a door, and the window does not have a screen, so i am happy for our nets we brought from home. I am seeing lots of different bugs at night, crawling on my net, including HUGE spiders. (not my favorite).
The house is very busy and the babies are always crying so we do not get very much sleep. we usually go to bed around 11:00 and are awake by 5:00am. Then i go to school and then the orphanage. It makes for very long days, but i am used to the long hours. Dominique however, has been very tired lately.

They are getting the point that i get sick with spices and have been able to eat the last 2 meals with no problems, and my stomach is starting to feel much better.

I will write again soon,
thank you for staying in touch.


PS: Happy early birthday Zach! I love you and miss you very much xxoxoxox




Advertisement



12th July 2007

Hi Urs, Oh no! urs, please be careful! if you are going to the beach this week-end, tha salt water will help heal your wounds. just be careful with the sand. if you see that you feel weak ask to see a doctor, if there is one available. i hope that everything from now on will be o.k. Sunday we are going to Zack's b-day party at your mom's house. mel will be coming home on Saturday night and she starts Starbuck on Sunday morning. please take care and be careful!!!! your aunt who can't wait till your home safe and sound!!!! your're great!!! lots of love Nadia
12th July 2007

Advise for your wound
Use the bottled water to wash your wound and/or use the well water with the pills you have to make drinking water, just make sure you use enough pills (use more not less). to be extra safe you can the boil the water after using the pills. It is important to clean the wound. Then use the antiseptic cream in your first aid kit. It might burn but that means it's working. Keep up the good work Love Dad
13th July 2007

Sorry to hear your having abit of a rough patch. On the brightside you can eat and keep your strength up with the new spices they are using. I hope your leg heals well and the worst of your trip is over!
13th July 2007

hi lu, sorry to hear that you got hurt. be careful cause i'm going to worry. can't belive what happened to the boy, i would have probably beat up the woman myself and get into trouble. hope u comforted him and gave him hugs after. we miss u a lot. went camping for 3 days with kids. very fun experience. hope to hear from u soon. luv al.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb