VOLTA REGION EXPERIENCE


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta
November 10th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

FORK IN THE ROADFORK IN THE ROADFORK IN THE ROAD

THIS IS WHAT I DREAMED ABOUT TWO DAYS BEFORE MY ARRIVAL...
THIS PAST WEEK I TRAVELED TO THE VOLTA REGION OF GHANA FOR THE FIRST TIME.... TWO DAYS BEFORE I LEFT, I DREAMED OF THE FORK IN THE ROAD YOU SEE ON THE PHOTO..... AND IN MY DREAM I WAS TOLD TO GO TO THE RIGHT.... SO THATS WHERE WE WENT.... I CAME ACROSS A VILLAGE CALLED TENGUEKOPA.... HERE ARE SOME OF THE PEOPLE IN THE VILLAGE THEY ARE OF THE EWE TRIBE.... HERE IS ALSO A PICTURE OF ME DOING AN EWE DANCE WITH THE LADIES OF TRIBE.... I WITNESSED A FUNERAL, BUT DONT HAVE PICS OF THAT....THIS VILLAGE THAT I DREAMED ABOUT WAS THE MOST PEACEFUL TO MY SPIRIT.... I REALLY FELT AT HOME....BEFORE LEAVING, THE ELDERS INSISTED THAT I HAD RETURNED HOME.... I'VE DREAMED OF THIS PLACE EVERYNIGHT SINCE.... I MUST GO BACK.... THEY HAVE CALLED SINCE I'VE LEFT AND WANT ME TO STAY LONGER TO SEE MUCH MORE.... ALSO TRAVELED TO ATACHIE.... HERE ARE SOME PICS OF PEOPLE DANCING IN THEIR CULTURAL CENTER ON SUNDAY.... MOST EWE PEOPLE IN THE REGION ARE NOT CHRISTIANS, THEY ARE STILL PRACTITIONERS IN THEIR TRADITIONS AND THEIR LANGUAGE.... I WAS TOLD THAT EVEN THOUGH MOST SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND ENGLISH THEY ONLY SPEAK
TENGUEKOPA TRIBETENGUEKOPA TRIBETENGUEKOPA TRIBE

HERE ARE JUST SOME OF THE PEOPLE FROM THE TRIBE WHO GREETED ME
THEIR NATIVE TONGUE AT HOME....I MET ELDERS OF THE VILLAGES AND WAS GREETED WITH OPEN ARMS.... THEY FEED ME THE MOST NATURAL AND GOOD FOOD, I.E., SWEET POTATOES, FRESH FISH, OKRA, TOMATOES, BANKU, COCONUTS..... ALL WAS VERY GOOD....




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

ME WITH ELDERS OF TRIBEME WITH ELDERS OF TRIBE
ME WITH ELDERS OF TRIBE

I WAS TIRED.... HAD BEEN A LONG DAY
TANYA'S TWINTANYA'S TWIN
TANYA'S TWIN

I SEE PEOPLE OVER HERE THAT LOOK JUST LIKE AMERICANS I KNOW PERSONALLY... AFRIKAN GENES ARE TRULY STRONG!!!


10th November 2006

fabulous
The picture you sent are fabulous. It is so wonderful to see you in your element. The fact that we talked about these experiences so much and now your doing it BIG. I showed the travel blog picture to Hans, and he is excited as well, that you are in his country. he told me that you were in the nort, in the Volta region. Hans said he lives in Madina in Accra and he showed me were you are in proximity. He said to go to Cape Coast to the El Mina Castle were they took the Slaves to ship them off. let me know if you can get over there. I'd be interested to see what thats like. I just got your text to call Larry last night, only because I havent been checking my texts as should. I'll give him a call and talk to him tonight. I would like to know if we said I was his cousin or Uncle? It might not even matter. But I'll let you know as soon as we talk. You look gorgeous, your skin... so dark and clear. I'm just elated that you've taken me there with you electronically. Talk soon, love is love.
11th November 2006

Blog #2
Very good! I enjoyed them even more than the first ones. Work it out!! Sad news on the homefront, Gerald LeVert died (40) Thursday nite of a heart attack. Please let our people know that beef and pork of the finest cuts will take you under. I joined the Y today, our branch will open April, but the half price enrollement was this weekend only. Have fun and I am planning to see my little girl in 33 days. Love Ya
13th November 2006

I miss you
I think I agree with the elders when they say you had returned home. I miss and love you dearly and can't wait to see you. Though the experience you're going through right now, I can see in the pix is a very good one for your soul! Stay up!
9th December 2006

Africa
I was blessed with opportunity to visit Africa as a young man in the military it brought tears to my eye to see that it was "for real" not just a place they said slaves came from it's beauty was magnificant. I have never forgotten my experiences in Kenya, Tunisia, and Egypt. I remember tell Grandma Mary that when I went to Africa I took her me my eye's were her eye's. Thank you for listening God Bless you and keep you safe Reggie
10th March 2007

The Difference of the VR
I have been to the VR twice. I am involved in a village in Ho, Ghana, which is also in the VR. The VR has some special "air" to it. The area, in my opinion, is largely forgotten. But it is beautiful all the same. I volunteered in the VR in 2005-2006 through an international org. and then went back and formed a small team and fed a village. It was part of a personal initiative I wanted to do when I first went there. I have traveled to 6 African nations, but think Ghana is a place that has captured my heart. I have, since then, formed a non profit org, which I am currently processing here in Atlanta Georgia, in order to do some more things there humanitarian wise. I also have some immediate plans to initiate a project helping students in one of the VR villages, obtain school uniforms for school year 2007. Thanks for letting me share. My email is debtanz@yahoo.com Blessings!
5th April 2010

happy experience
This seems to be so delightful. I am paternally ewe and I hope to be in Accra in September 2010. I can't wait to return home to my father's people. Incidentally, my father could be a twin to Former President J.A. Kuofor even though he is Ashanti. Ghanaian blood stilll runs strong.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb