Ndo!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Lake Volta
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting here at the computer closest to the door, watching the goats pass by and listening to tribal music over the loudspeakers. This is the second computer I've tried, and the owner of the internet cafe hovers behind me and the other volunteers, making sure our computers are working fast enough for the spoiled Westerners. (they aren't.) The amount I have to tell you, after only being here for two days really, would take ages to write. Today, then, the highlights.

Left the homebase yesterday morning for the first time with a group of girls I'm here with. Walking out of the gate it struck me immediately where I really was. Hollowed out buildings, two of them, were all I could see beyond dust-covered palms and shrubs, goats, and roosters. Walking on a little way we discussed our reasons for coming. I wasn't really sure what to say. I didn't want to spill it so early that I had won the trip (claiming-to-fame being the enemy of the do-gooder) so I kept my fool mouth shut. We soon heard a man singing over a crude loud speaker in the distance, with drumming and singing as well. We headed that way, to be met by a man who stopped us one by one and shook our hands. It was his church, he said, and he invited us in.

Imagine, if you will, a huge revival... everyone is dressed in their finest, whatever that may be, and sitting under a huge tent facing the front. We snuck in the back, expecting to stand for a few minutes and move on. Instead, the man who had invited us in brought out a plastic chair for each of us, and motioned for us to rest our heels. Looking to the right, was the children's tent. It would've been impossible to distinguish the boys from the girls, as they were all bald, except the girls were dressed in the frilliest possible dresses, and had pierced ears. Immediately, 100 pairs of black eyes trained themselves on the eight of us. Some inched their way towards us, waving timidly. I smiled as broadly as I could, partly because there was nothing else I could possibly do at that moment, and waved back. Smiles popped up and white teeth began gleaming the sun. Accepted! Those of you who know me well won't be surprised that some tears welled up, and I had to put my sunglasses on to hide them.

This is one example of two days that have been filled with such experiences. I can't imagine three weeks of the same, but I am welcoming it with open arms and an open mind. I start my volunteer placement tomorrow morning, and Weds after work in the morning we are headed to the mountains for a hike and a swim in the waterfall. I will try to write as soon as I can, but please continue with the comments. I love to hear from you all.

Miadogo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb