2 weeks


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

I don't know where to begin~ There's so much to share with you!

I've been mixed with many emotions about Hohoe bc there are so many issues here, but the people are so welcoming and friendly. I have not been able to walk down the street without every single person saying welcome and asking how my day is. Please know that I'm very safe here!

School is stressful but in a different way than at Little Silver. The children are so used to rote memorization, so they have never been able to think for themselves. I worked with one of the boys in my class on his reading. He read beautifully using the book from our school, but when I brought a book from the home base, he couldn't read one word. In fact, he couldn't make out one letter sound. Because he reads stories over and over again with the class, he pretended to read by memorizing the entire thing. He is actually at a 1st grade reading level.

There were two experiences at school that made me realize just how lucky we
are in America.
1. We were reading a picture book about a boy who has magical powers. He can make wishes and they are granted. To help them with their comprehension of the story, I was having them make text-to-self connections. I asked each of them what their wish would be. I had them write it down, so they couldn't copy from others. Most of them said, "I wish to read like you." The other said, "To have my parents back."
2. I'm not sure why this next part really upset me, but Rebecca, a girl in my class, always wore a jacket over her uniform. I didn't mind, but the other day, the head master came in and screamed at her to take it off (at least she was not hit). When she did, I saw why she doesn't take her jacket off. Her zipper is broken which makes her entire back open for the rest of the class to look at. There are also open sores, probably from either beatings or sickness. This problem could be easily fixed, but I did not bring a safety pin. Luckily over the weekend, I traveled to the Cape Coast. The hotel had a sewing kit. I was able to get one there!
Something easily found in America is almost impossible to find here~

In addition to my placement, I am developing a teacher training program to help the teachers in Ghana with their professional development. They have no resources available to them, so I am creating a book to help them with new reading strategies, classroom management, etc...I talked to my program manager, and he will be distributing this out to the teachers in Hohoe. Other volunteers will go out and train them based on my program packet. I just felt like I wasn't doing enough. Now, I will be able to reach more people!!!! I'll let you know what happens.


You know you are in Ghana when:
1. You ask where the bathroom is in a bar and they point to the backyard.
2. A 45 year old woman pulls up her dress on the side of the street and pees.

Favorite traveling experience:
Canopy walk over the rain forest. I was 140 feet above the trees on a rope bridge the size of a ruler. It was amazing. I was so nervous though!

I can't upload pictures, so you will have to wait until I get back! Sorry!

p.s. Markham social studies teachers-I went to Cape Coast. I had a tour of the slave trade castle (The door of no return) THe pictures will be perfect to show our kids when we go over it at the end of the year!!!



Advertisement



23rd July 2008

Hi from Markham
What an experience you are having! Our students have no idea how different life can be. You are very brave! Can't wait to see your pictures. My best to you both. Take care and keep blogging. Puddy
23rd July 2008

Hi
Hello - you don't know me, but I just wanted to say I enjoyed reading your blog. I was in Ho with CCS last year for 8 weeks, and had an amazing time. I can relate to so much of what you say, and I think it's great that you are trying to help the teachers so your work can continue after you are home. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Ghana! Take care, Ricki
25th July 2008

I,m so proud of you
Elizabeth dear, your Mom gave me your www blog today. I have been reading of your adventures. I am so very much in awe of what you are doing. I,m so glad you are helping those children. Wish I could be there with my needle and thread. Keep up the good work. I love you. Gma
25th July 2008

wow
You are doing such a great thing for this kids and teachers. I am so proud of you for letting go of all the sad things in thier lives and teaching them to think. You are going to come back a changed person and your current and future students are really going to benefit. Love you long time! me And PS- I love that you had to pee outside of a bar...whoda thought that one????
29th July 2008

Hi
I wanted to cry when I read about the little boy who couldn't read and the little girl's dress. Thanks for balancing these stories with your funny ones. Give my best to Christina.
1st August 2008

Leahy - you are a wonder
I am so proud to know you - the story of the girl and jacket made me cry - you are the real deal Leahy. It is so hard to comprehend how hard life is for others but you are making it quite clear. Thanks Leahy for changing lives.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb