First Weekend in Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry, but this is so hard to stay updated with such slow computers...I really will try to get everything from this last week in.

This weekend, we visited a hotel on Lake Volta which was absolutely insane. Imagine taking an extremely nice vacation to Mexico and paying only $50/night to stay there...and we had AIR CONDITIONING which was a wonderful wonderful treat as we do not have it at the home base.

On Friday we just sat around the hotel and had a few cocktails under a cabana so it was nice to stay in after an extremely hot and bumpy two hour ride. We discovered there is a pet donkey at the hotel that they let walk around everywhere so that was really funny to see. We ate buffet at the hotel which was cold and still sitting out from lunch, so that was kind of a bummer.

Champps people....I taught everyone about the word "cocktail" and it's really catching on. Super funny to see other people do it.

On Saturday we woke up, laid around the pool, and then went to see this place where they make all of the beads for their jewelry. The amount of craftsmanship that goes into their artwork is insane. I can't believe the small amount of money I'm paying to be wearing something that took so much work to create.

When we got back, we went to a different hotel to eat. I not only ate porkchops and french fries, but also had an additional meal of a hamburger and french fries and of course got ice cream for dessert. I'm paying for it today, though (Sunday) as my stomach feels awful and I feel like I'm going to be sick.

We leave for home in Hohoe in an hour or so and then it's back to work at the orphanage tomorrow. It's such a blessing to know that I'm doing something that means so much to so many little kids. The work Yevo (white person) constantly makes me laugh, as they shout it out when they can't remember your name.

Also, I'd like to get my address out:
Kacie Harms
c/o Cross Cultural Solutions, Hohoe
PO Box HH 230
Hohoe, Volta Region, Ghana, Africa

ANY mail or packages would be extremely appreciated! Mail is super fun to receive here and is a really big deal!

Miss you all!
Love.

Advertisement



17th March 2008

You Made it!
You're finally there baby girl!!!! I'm relieved. I will be able to sleep better now knowing you are safe in Africa? I'll be drinking a glass of wine in your name soon. Let me know if my private comment got to you because they didn't send a confirmation email to me yet and it was SUPER long. So I hope you get it. Ps. I love you
17th March 2008

Hi Kacie! So glad you made it to Ghana safely and finally! I've been praying for you! Thanks for posting your address...let me know if there is anything you are especially missing! You are doing a wonderful thing - enjoy your time because I'm sure it will fly by. I'm looking forward to reading about your adventures through this blog! Love and miss ya - Tracy
18th March 2008

Good to hear you haven't been eated by a lion yet!!
It's so good to hear you made it to Ghana!! We prayed for you at my church yesterday!! I would have been so scared, but sounded like you handled everything very well! Miss you... look for a package... how long does something like that take to get to Ghana?? Champps crew is getting one together!!

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb