Goodbye??


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I would hate to leave without typing up a final entry. However, the whole idea of packing up and saying goodbye and my final reactions and first reflections are just too big of a concept to lay out on this computer screen at the moment.

Just know that I am returning the night of Dec. 14th!...with presents! I would like to cook up some Ghanaian food soon after I get back for whoever might be interested.

The elections here so far have been successful. I have been told by the porters of my hostel who listen to the radio all day that one person died from gunfire in a region Northwest of where I am, and that at a pooling station a group of "macho men" ran off with the polling boxes containing that station's votes. Here in Legon, anyone with a radio seems to have it tuned to a station that just keeps saying the numbers of votes counted at various polling stations. It seems that the ruling party's candidate has a slight lead.

As far as myself, I think I am a little more informed, a little more inquisitive and a lot more confused as a result of this semester.

I have gained some weight (thanks saturated fat palm oil and carb overload) and who knows if I am tan...most Ghanaian still appear a few shades darker...

I am ready to come home, but am having trouble realizing that soon this will all be a memory.
More thoughts later perhaps!

love love love
Kristin

Advertisement



9th December 2008

Can't wait to see you!!!! Have a great trip.
9th December 2008

Good luck to you!
Hi Everything Yellow! Just another comment from your fans in California. Good luck to you in the rest of your life's adventures. Thank you for your blog; it helped me get through my son's semester in Ghana. He will be leaving Ghana on Sunday, and like you has many thoughts, experiences and emotions to sort through. I can't wait to see him, just as I'm sure your family cannot wait to see you! Best Wishes, Cathy
10th December 2008

goodbye
you did an AWESOME job with this travel blog. it was a great way for us to keep contact with you, and your way of telling a story is fascinating. you truly have a gift. i'm so happy you are almost home and i'm sorry for all that you have to leave behind. the end of one chapter is the beginning of another. love ya
11th December 2008

message to Cathy
Hi Kristin, This message is actually for Cathy in CA. I hope she sees it. Cathy, I am Kristin's mom and I can't tell you how moved I have been to read your comments to Kristin. What a world traveling and the internet has opened up. To know that a stranger, someone else's mom was following her blog and was concerned about what happened to her was so moving. As you certainly know, it was so hard to stand back and let them fly off to another continent. Then to have to deal with her being sick from such a distance, and to hear about all the strange encounters, to have spotty phone connections, etc. well, now its hard to believe its over. We did it! I'm so glad I heard about most of these things "after the fact", aren't you! I hope you have a wonderful homecoming with your son and happy holidays together. Warmly, Renee p.s. Where in CA do you live, what area?
11th December 2008

wow
i cant believe youre coming home! i cant wait to see you and i hope that the goodbye is not too hard on you...

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb