Recent Developments, including the bug living in my intestine


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra
November 26th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again…17 ½ more days in this adventure, really? My perception of these last two weeks changes every couple of hours. Two days ago I was having a, “ugh really, if I am going to be sick for the majority of my time left JUST GET ME HOME,” kind of a day. Two days before that I was having a, “*%^#@@@@, I only have three weeks left…where did the time go…how could I have done this all better…what can I still do…hm maybe I should get a Fulbright and stay in school and travel and study (forever)…Latin America, no what about Europe, or Asia…of course these thoughts are then intercepted by the conclusion, “oooo I love Pittsburgh!” All in all it has been a busy week inside my brain and my corresponding heart. Today’s conclusion: I am sooooo excited to be HOME in 18 days, and hopefully I can use this semester as a jumping point to many other wonderful experiences.
This is the part of my blog where I celebrate the wonderful news about my mom’s health and express how excited I am to see her, especially since the wonderful dream I had the other night in which we spent the day hanging out.
Haha as an aside: Today on msn.com I see that there is a headline: “Why the car horn is useless.” HA HA ha ha ha. Just try telling that to Ghana. They loooove the car horn here. Perhaps traffic is so congested because driving gives the population a chance to lay on that horn. 
So, it seems that I had a lovely little bug living in my stomach earlier this week. Every time I put any food or water in my body my stomach had me doubled over in painful cramps. However, I had a prescription for Cipro, an antibiotic used for killing just about anything in the stomach, and today I am feeling normal again. Spent yesterday reading and sewing (one of my newly self-taught activities haha). It should be noted that since I had barely any academic reading to do here for my classes I have managed to read 10 books while here, one of which was 700 pages on the history of Africa since independence! Other titles include Toni Morrison’s Sula , When You Are Engulfed in Flames (Sedaris), As the Crow Flies, Changes (both African authors and both female), Justine, Mountains Beyond Mountains, Into the Wild, the Yacoubain Building (on sexuality and repression in modern Egypt) and an Oxford Press Short Introduction to the World Trade Organization. It is such a wonderful chance to borrow books from students here and have the opportunity to do tons of pleasure reading that I would not have chosen. Who wants to start a book swap when I get back??

In Legon news: classes are over! In fact, I only have one final left! I have taken two dance finals, my Twi final (oral and written), my Ghana culture/society/politics class, and my Foreign Policy Analysis final! All that is left is Conflict and Conflict Resolution. That final is the day before I leave on December 12th, so that leaves the rest of my time to travel and spend time with the wonderful people I have met here.

Which leads into the fact that I am leaving for a trip to Togo early Friday morning! Thingss to do in Togo include visiting the voodoo market, riding motorcycle taxis, eating french food, visiting the beach, and loving life.

ugh. the internet got horribly volitile and slow, so I am going to end this quickly so that I can publish what I have. I spent last weekend at Busua (beach and village) and had had an amazingly relaxing time, and this past week I saw another football game, Ghana versus Tunisia. water and electricity have not been dependable. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

love love love
Kristin

Advertisement



26th November 2008

Waiting for 12/14!
Togo?! Are you serious!? Isn't that where people had so much trouble getting in and out and having passports stolen!? It better be worth it! Seriously, have a good time and be alert and safe, ok? I love you so much and can't wait to see your face. Love, Mom
28th November 2008

good news about your mom? im so happy to hear that. also happy to hear that got the bug out of your stomach! eww!! you poor girl, you've been sick so much! is that a new sedaris book? ill have to pick it up. also holy crap im so excited to see you!!!!!!!!!!! enjoy the rest of your time, good luck on your last final!!
28th November 2008

t-day
we missed missed missed you at thanksgiving this year, but are glad its for this wonderful african adventure. your mom looks awesome, and made a delicious dinner :) everyone had a great time, and jackson completely consumed daniel's day!!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb