School... wait, what?


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Legon
March 3rd 2008
Published: March 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, now that I've been here for about a month classes are actually beginning to happen- what, wait? I'm still in the process of narrowing down classes... I've already fallen asleep in one or two, so clearly I feel at home here. Let's see what's been up the last week or so- last Sunday after the 3 hour mass Calvin and I went to Frankie's in Osu (the westernized part of the city) for a burger and then headed to see the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and museum as well as Independence Square. It was really awesome going to the museum with a Ghanaian who could fill-in parts of history that I don't know, and hear things from a very different perspective. This Thursday is Independence day (3/6/1957), and I'm excited to see the parade, hear the speeches, etc.

Last Wednesday we rented a tro tro to take us to Tema, about 20 miles away, to hang out where my coach is from. It was really awesome to get out of the University and a bit away from the hustle and bustle (yes, i just wrote that) of Accra. Speaking of baseball, because of our trip this weekend, I missed the first game. We lost, but supposedly played well. In two weeks I think are the Western Africa games held here... the pressure is on.

In other news, team Dolla Dolla Bill Y'All came in 4th place, only one away from making money... there is hope. We probably won't go to trivia this week, but from 8th to 4th in a week, sheesh.

This weekend's plans are still pretty up in the air, but I'm hoping to get travel again- possibly to Kpandu where the 3rd largerst grotto in the world. This is in the Volta region which supposedly gorgeous. Maybe a hike or two...

Advertisement



20th March 2008

So since you're one away from making money...does that mean that in fact you're losing money? :)

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb