Out and about in Accra


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 30th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Up on the roofUp on the roofUp on the roof

Foggy Morning
What a big day we had. We went to the Art Market after another great breakfast. This time we had butter and Apricot jam with our toast. The jam was very tangy and thick. Normally, I'm not an Apricot jam kind of girl, but this was exceptional. We headed out in a convoy of three taxis to the market. The sellers at this particular market are quite aggressive because the competition for the tourists' dollars is very fierce. I was told on more than one occassion that I was the first customer of the day for a particular seller. It is good luck to "make" the first sale of the day and that luck travels with the buyer as well. It must really have been my lucky day. I got some great gifts (I can't say what they are here or it would ruin the surprise). After the market we went to a resort down the coast towards Tema. It was called "Next Door Resort" and perhaps that is because Tema is the nexyt town to the East of Accra. I had Red Red which is a traditional Ghanain dish made of beans in red pepper sauce with fried plantain. I asked for it to be not too hot and it was great. Maybe next time, I won't ask for the mild version just to see what happens. As promised, I have a few pictures to add. Tomorrow we all leave the comfort of the Central Hotel and head of to 6 different regions of Ghana...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

View from hereView from here
View from here

Down to the ocean
Last night togetherLast night together
Last night together

Sorry we missed Larry


12th February 2010

Thanks for the warning
I have learned a lot about the Irish Credit Union system from Barry. Thanks for sharing him with this great program!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb