A week of firsts and lasts


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
January 20th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

accraaccraaccra

the road to the WUSC office
Hello! So I’ve been in Ghana for a little over a week now, and its been pretty great so far. We had orientation for Monday to Wednesday last week, and even though it did answer a bunch of questions, there are still a lot of things we all don’t know about our placements… but that’s just how it is around here. No one is really in a rush to give you answers. You will find out when you need to. Ok. Sure. Haha But I am off to Fotobi this afternoon, so then I will finally get to put everything together, and hopefully get an idea of what I might really be doing.

But other than work stuff, its been an interesting week! I had my first (of many) bucket shower when the water went out last week. I’ve never been in a place where I’ve had to do that before, but I was amazed at how efficient it is, and how little water you really need to use to shower. We should use it at home. Then I probably wouldn’t waste soo much time in the morning just standing under the hot water…

I also took my first tro-tro ride! They are the main form of transportation around here, and are called a shared taxi, but are really mini-buses. They are about 16+ passenger vans that are everywhere; the driver and a guy hanging from the door just yell where they are headed. If it’s the right direction, you flag them down and hop on. They are super cheap as well, and I think it will be my main form of transport around Fotobi.

So the tro-tro took us for our first visit into the main city of Accra, which was like any other big city with its sights to see, so we started wandering around. We then ended up meeting these Rastafarian dudes who talked to us for a while, played some music (they are drummers), and then offered to show us around, so we went! They took us and showed us the real Accra. We walked through a part of the city called Jamestown, which is apparently one of the poorest neighbourhoods in Accra, and they explained everything to us, and made sure no one bothered us. They were pretty much awesome. With them we saw a street academy that takes street kids and gives
rastafarians!rastafarians!rastafarians!

the guys after they played drums for us
them primary education and sponsors the kids after that if they need it. We also walked in on a dance /drumming group practicing, who then offered to give us a performance, which was super sweet. Throughout out wanders I tried a whole bunch of fruits I don’t even know what they are called, but are pretty darn good. I had the first papaya I’ve ever liked! Haha But ya they were pretty awesome guys, and we got to see things with them we never would have discovered on our own.

And now about the lasts… so last night was THE last night that the whole group of 8 of us will be together for a while. We participated in meetings for the last 2 days, which was really helping to brainstorm and detail WUSC Ghana’s 5 year plan. Intense. But now that’s over, and today those of us who are leaving are heading on out. So last night I had my last shower with warm water… and it was also my last night of air conditioning… how I will miss you! Haha But im excited to go see Fotobi, and finally get to settle in, in the place I will be living for the next 4 months. Weird, but exciting.

Ok this will probably be the last internet I see for a while, so I hope everyone is doing well at home! I miss you guys! I’ll write again when I can about what my little village is like! Haha I can’t wait to see myself. Ok I’ll talk to you all soon I hope!

Love!

Laris

Ps I also had my first marriage proposal! Don’t worry grandma, I turned him down 😉



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th January 2010

Larissa, it sounds like you're already having an amazing time! I hope Fotobi is just as wonderful, and I can't wait to hear about it and see some pictures!
29th January 2010

It's all good!
Larissa, Thanks for writing! When you get back I will join with you on the "bucket shower" interest group. When you have to get it yourself from a well, it is definitely easier to conserve. Glad to hear things are going well!

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb