The past week...


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
July 2nd 2009
Published: July 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

Not updated for a few days now, haven't been in an internet cafe for long enough to write much! Some days have been eventful, others not so!

As some people may already know, a week ago today, last Thursday, I got mugged! Me and my roomate Aishu were just outside another set of volunteers house, when a guy who was walking towards us came over and said "Hi girls" as many people do, then immediately grabbed the strap of my cross-body bag, my relfex reactions kicked in and I grabbed it too, but he he yanked it again and the strap broke off, so I grabbed the body of my bag but he was determined, and pushed me over on the floor, and eventually got my bag. At the time I thought my camera was in there, that's why I was being so protective of it, but luckily it wasn't, and my phone was in my pocket. So he didn't get much really, the equivalent of about 8pounds, a card which I cancelled straight away, some mosquito repellent, hairbrush etc etc. He probably got home disappointed and thought it wasn't worth it! But needless to say, me and Aishu were pretty shaken up afterwards and I didn't really feel like going anywhere that weekend (we had planned to go to Lake Volta and the Vli waterfall) so we had a relaxing weekend at home, but we were very cautious and suspicious of most people that spoke to us! It made everyone relalise we may have been a bit complacent, and vowed to be much more vigilent from now on.

The next day, Friday, I didn't go to the Orphanage in the morning as I needed to go to the Police Station and report it, so a Ghanaian man from Projects Abroad met us and took us to Labadi Police Station, which was in a not-very-nice shanty town area. It was a good job we had a Ghanaian with us, otherwise it would probably have taken us hours and we probably would have got ripped off! I had to pay a small "tip" as they like to call it, to get a police report done on the spot. Apparently if you don't "tip", it could take days, weeks, or it might never get done! The main policeman who looked like he was in charge looked like a militia man in a black/white/grey camo outfit, bulging biceps and a look which said he ran the place, and was watching TV with the other policemen when we walked in! He wrote the report eventually and we got out after about an hour and a half which was quite good. I think him & the other policemen were more bothered about giving me & Aishu marriage proposals lol.

On Friday night, we were really nervous about going out after dark, but felt we needed to treat ourselves so we walked just up the road to a Lebanese restaurant (in the light), which was amazing with really good service in a proper restaurant, and I had, second to Chris's, the best carbonara I've ever eaten lol. I know it's not Lebanese, but we did have a Lebanese starter!
So we just chille dout the rest of the weekend really, we did go down to an area of Accra called Ussher Town and James Town on sunday to see some old forts (which are now prisons) and a lighthouse, but the weather turned really bad and torrential rain started (plus we were just a bit nervous of being out after Thursday night!) so we went home.

The rest of the week so far has been pretty normal really. I had a really sad day on Monday though. Because I was the only volunteer in the baby unit on that day, the Aunties wouldn't let the kids out of their cots all morning, so from about 8:00am when I got there till 11am ish when they have lunch, they were just in their cots, crying and just generally being restless. And one of my favourites, Herbert, who is normally a really happy toddler, was really upset all day and nothing I did would make him smile. I actually felt like crying, and almost did! Every now and then I would let one of the toddlers out to run around a bit, and hold one of the younger babies, but they inevitably began crying when I had to put them back in the cots. The next day there were more volunteers though so the babies were allowed out to play, yay! It makes me sad to think what its like when there are no volunteers there.

On Monday we also got invited to an African baby naming ceremony by a Nigerian friend James, but extremely bad traffic coupled with a flat tyre in the taxi we were travelling in, meant that what should have been a 30 minute journey took and hour and a half, so we missed the ceremony, but the family were stilll very welcoming and we had a really good evening! The baby's Grandmother, Christina, made the most amazing soup (from a goat slaughtered for the occasion) and jollof rice, but me and Fionnuala were sure we ate a goat's testicle! Very succulent though.

Today (Thursday), me, Aishu and Fionnuala went to the 5* La Palm Beach Hotel Resort to use the pool, which is supposed to be the best in Accra, and had a lovely luxurious relaxing afternoon lying in the sun, swimming, and surrounded by palm trees - bliss!
We are off to a paradise called Ada Foah at the weekend. Sorry for a relatively short entry, i'm going to try and add some more photos to Facebook now!

Ciao for now!xxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb