Departing for Ghana


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
December 25th 2008
Published: December 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's coming up!!! I leave for Africa January 31st!

Here is some basic info of where I will be for the first 3 months in Ghana, as well as my website and contact information. I will let you all know whats going on and what I'll be doing in Uganda as the time gets closer. But for now, a little about me in Ghana:

I will be working at the Kiddy Kare Nursery and prepatory school in the village of Abokobi outside Accra. It is located in the East District, Abokobi-Accra. Abokobi is a small village which lies in the East of Accra, It is 28 Kilometers from Accra and 4 Kilometers off Accra /Aburi at Oyarifa.It lies close to the foot of Akuapem Hills. Average temperature 27 -33oC- so it's going to be extremely hot. It has a population of about 2,000 people, mainly peasant farmers.

The school and nursery provides shelter and education for children from Abokobi and surrounding villages. The school educates both orphans and children who still have their family.

I will be assisting with a wide variety of tasks including helping provide care for the children who live at the school, teaching, leading activities, and any other tasks that come up. I also have the option of volunteering at a nearby child development center that provides after school activities and tutoring for local children. I will be staying with a woman named, Mrs. Caroline Antwi, her husband and their 11 year old son. They live about a 10 minute walk from the school where I will be working.

There nearest internet cafe is about 30 minutes from where I will be living, and I doubt I will have internet where I live- so considering that, I will try to write and blog as much as I can.

If you want to/need to send me anything, I will recieve mail at the following address Between Feb. 1st and April 29th.
The address is:
Jaymie Lanera
C/O Mrs Caroline Antwi
Smart Youth Volunteers Foundation
P.O. Box OS 2337
Osu-Accra
Ghana

Hope to hear from you all once in a while.
Check back for more updates!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb