For Sale??


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
September 1st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I mentioned in my last blog that I would tell you all about the "things" people manage to sell by walking through traffic and the streets by carrying in a basket, box, laundry hamper, suitcase, plexiglass box, etc. It is truely amazing to watch, and before the end of the week I am going to attempt to carry something on my head.

You can buy: pencils, chocolate bars (the best chocolate in the world might I add...that DOESN'T MELT?!), water, toilet paper (regular, or with mandarin scent -- the mandarin is cheaper), fruit (bags of apples, bananas, mango, etc), shoes, hankies (which are extremely useful for tro-tro rides...it gets pretty hot in there), note books, little candies, gum, water sacks, car parts, bread, have your windows washed, puppies (I asked how old they were...apparently 2 months old....but I guarutee they weren't that old), plantane chips, tooth brushes (for 50 puesos...equivalent to $0.50 Cdn), juice, pop, baked goods including samosa type things, phone credits are sold every 2 feet no joke....seriously you can request something you want and at that corner they will have it to you in a matter of seconds. As well if you are at a T in the road and you wish to cross traffic by turning left, there are men that stand there and wait for you to give them money for them to go out and stop traffic. Because these guys really have no authority, half the time they wait until there are no cars coming, but they still make money. Its a bizarre little world, but it is what works for them. I also mentioned that everyone is an entrepreneur in Ghana...well that includes me. I have learned if you buy something for really cheap somewhere, and you see it more expensive elsewhere, you can then sell it to those people and make a profit for yourself -- I have yet to do this, nor do I know if I will, but it is one of those valuable lessons I am supposed to be aware of!

My Weekend:

On Friday night after dinner, I went for a walk around my neighbourhood and met this group of young guys (the youngest being in grade 10 and oldest being about my age in university). They were all very kind and wanted to know everything about me. Chris lives on the corner of the street that I live on so I am sure I will be seeing them again.

On Saturday I went on my first tro-tro ride with Yao to learn my route to work. It was on this ride that I had my first Ghanaian chocolate bar. Ghana is the biggest cocoa export in the world, so it would make sense that I can eat 2 of these no problem (Mom, don't worry they are loaded with fat...I expect I will be heavier coming home than when I got here!!). I have to do a bit of walking to make all of my transfers through the Kwame Nkurmah Circle or as the locals call it: "Circle, but pronounced, "cir, circ, cir" with a hand gesture going in a circle. Although there are many round-a-bouts throughout Accra, this one is known as the universal "circ." Kwame Nkrumah Circle is named after the first Ghanaian president, and is represented by an impressive statue in the centre. To all of those people in Halifax: think the rotary, but 2 or 3 times the size, with no traffic lanes, more feeder lanes, and crosswalks throughout...its chaos, but it works...somehow.

On Sunday, I met up with my friend Mike that I met the first day I was here. As it turns out he does very well for himself. His mother lives in Germany, where he worked as a dishwasher and wait staff for a few years while he schooled. He has since returned to Ghana to begin his own business. Since he inherited land from his father (who apparently was the King of Ashanti, or son of the king....oy I am not sure...either way. He inherited some very valuable land that has gold deposits, among other things. On his plane ride home from Germany he sat next to the Italian Ambassador, who has treated him as a son ever since, lending him money to start a store, etc. Mike now buys cars in the US and Europe and imports them to Ghana. On Sunday he drove a Nissan SUV (8 passenger). As we ordered our food a man was looking in the windows of the car, and when we came out, the parking attendent had a name and number for him (there wasn't even a for sale sign...this is just how business works in Ghana!!!) We continued on with our day to a local beach called Labadi. This is likely the area I will be moving to in the next month as it is more international. As I think about it though, there I would just be one of many "Obruni's" whereas in Snitt Flats, I am the only Obruni, and I am getting a much more rich and real perspective in the African life, which I am really coming to enjoy....not the "baller" lifestyle as described above, but the simple, yet harder life I described in my last blog.

Today on my first "solo" tro-tro ride, the cutest little girl would look at me with her big eyes and then flash me the biggest grin ever, she got a kick out of me being an Obruni....the closest thing I can attribute it to is how people back home react to our dogs, they are curious at first and then they just love the fact that they are massive dogs.

I haven't talked about my work much yet, partially because I have so many random little experiences to mention, but also because IWMI has just assigned me a project on Thursday. I am supposed to receive the report later today...but on Ghana time that might mean tomorrow or Wednesday. I will not be working on the same project I was told about a few months ago, as that project is well under way. Now I am partnering up with an organization housed under IWMI known as RUAF, (Resource Centres on Urban Agriculture and Food Security). I will be taking a specific project as a project manager to evaluate and write the final report (I think!) until December at which time I will begin a new project until the end of my placement.

That is all for now! I hope the long weekend is treating everyone in Canada well!

Lots of love,
Jody

Advertisement



1st September 2008

Jody's in sales?...
Hey Jody! Another Great post! Funny: I had thought that the puppies were a completely random thing when I saw that but obviously this a common commodity for sale: I hope they're sold for pets!! But can't imagine why one would feel compelled to purchase a puppy in morning traffic.... So the next update I expect to learn of you walking through traffic selling plantain chips and towels from a hamper on your head! Maybe you'll earn more than what you make at the internship!...xoxoCathy

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb