Still alive :b - Two classes


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
February 21st 2008
Published: February 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

haha… So, it looks like I have failed miserably at the whole blog scene thus far, however, over the past days, I’ve been doing a lot of writing blogs down in my journal, without actually getting a chance to sit down at the computer to copy them down, so, I’m tossing out this message first to give you the updated scoop.
Thus far, I have gotten through the hectic registration process and am now in this quirky stage of attending my dozen classes I signed up for. Over the next few weeks, I will be attending these weekly classes and narrowing them down to five (plus the native Twi Language class which we just today discovered was going to count as three extra credits). So far, I have attended five classes, I believe, and three of them have had the professors show up. Apparently, it’s a crap shot of whether or not the teacher (lecturer as they are called here) shows up the first week, and it is not unusual to go to a class and wait 30-45 minutes before giving up.
Today was a good day because both my 7:30-9:25 a.m. class and the following 9:30-11:30 a.m. showed up. (I know, I know, but 7:30 really isn’t that early here because the sun comes up and the heat/light wakes you up anyway… no 3 a.m. bedtimes for me here folks =b) But, anyway, my first class was Intro to African Literature, and even though the lecturer is pretty hard to understand at first and the there is a ton of reading material every week, I am super excited about taking it. It seems like that class is going to give me a lot of incite into all the various social changes and dynamics within African culture, especially as regards development, human rights and traditions. Also, unlike the usual “British teaching style” of lecturing and note-taking, the professor said that he plans on involving everybody and leading discussion. So, definitely excited for that ☺.
Second class was with Lauren (African Myths and Symbols), which was my first class with a female professor. I was a little daunted by this one at first because she made it sound like not knowing anything about African religion would be a problem. However, she suggested some extra reading, so I think it’s a go.
Right now, I’m hoping to not take classes on Fridays and Mondays so that everything will be condensed and I can take day and/or weekend trips a lot. I’d also really like to get a lot more dedicated to my blogging/writing, regular exercise and volunteer work around here, which I know nothing about yet. There are so many classes here that are incredibly interesting that I could probably do nothing here but study, so I am going to try to “audit” (sit in on for no credit, just for the education) a few classes when I can.
After classes, Lauren and I headed out to the Madina Market to grab a few things, but mostly because Lauren’s been wanting to go back there for a while now. The markets here could take a book to describe, especially this particular market which is packed and spreads who knows how far. Here, a vast majority of the retail and produce sales of everything from toothbrushes and underclothes to cement bricks and furniture, is done by independent vendors along the side of the roads, in handmade, open shanties or by individuals carrying goods in their arms or more likely, on their heads in baskets or bins.
Garrr, it’s getting late, it’s been a long day, and tomorrow promises to be the same, so I’m peacing out, but hopefully I’ll be filling everyone in a lot more in the very near future.



Advertisement



21st February 2008

Good to hear from you.
I'll give the "no 3 a.m. bedtimes for me" thing about 2 more weeks... The market sounds pretty sweet. Take some pictures of it some time if you can. Hope you two are faring well, take care! -Mike
21st February 2008

It's called retail therapy
Ha ha ha - You know Lauren needs her retail therapy any way she can get it! I'm sure the market provides the "fix" she needs. Thanks for the update - Looking forward to more!
21st February 2008

yay!!
seems like you're having an awesome time so far! i'm a little bit jealous about how lenient they are with your classes, hopefully you'll have plenty of time to travel!! and you're not gonna stay up til 3am!?!?! lies, all lies, i don't believe it :P
1st March 2008

Oh my dear friend Shane, It is so nice to hear that you are having a good time with Lauren in Ghana. I miss you! I can't wait to share my stories about Ireland with you and hear all there is to know about Ghana. Take care, be safe! God bless! You are in my prayers always! Your fellow Da Lova, Jenn
1st March 2008

Hey Shane! It is so nice to hear that you are enjoying Ghana! I miss you! I can't wait to share my experiences in Ireland with you and for you to tell me everything there is to know about Ghana! Take care and be safe! God bless! You are in my prayers always! Your fellow Da Lova, Jenn
31st March 2008

wow! is pretty much all i have to say, it sounds amazing, im glad you were able to have such an experience, miss you like crazy though, u sure know how to get some distance from arbys dont ya i guess!lol u better get to writing on here some more though young man.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb