I'm back!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello hello...I'm back! First, I just wanna apologize in advance for the heart attack that this entry in gonna give my parents...the trip to and from Takoradi was crazy and I'm gonna put all the details in so I don't forget (I'm sick of journaling).

I left Accra for Takoradi on Monday and it was my first experience with STC (the grey-hound type busses that are supposed to be MUCH better that a tro-tro). I went to the station the night before my bus left to check the times and such so I could time it out to get to Takoradi by 12 to meet Gretchen at the station. I got a taxi EARLY that morning from Uncle Larry's Hostel and it was the oddest traxi ride to date. The driver kept seeing his friends and trying to get their attention, while we're FLYING down a huge divided highway. I seriously think he honked his horn and hung out the window yelling the whole first half of the drive. When I couldn't take it anymore...I politely asked him to stop and said that he was driving me crazy..hehe...he stopped. We're all REALLY tired so we're starting to be a bit more forward. Well, when I got the station and pushed my way to the ticket window, the lady informed me that the "luxury" bus left at 9:30 and when I kept asking her about the 8:30 bus that I needed to be on, she acted like she couldn't sell me a ticket for it. It was a big mess and I guess she's just used to the obruni wanting the air conditioned, nicer busses but I was on a schedule and didn't care what kind of bus it was, it had to be better than a tro tro. After a REALLY long argument and a whole bunch of people getting involved, the lady finally sold me a ticket and I sat down to wait for my bus. The whole luggage thing is really weird cause you have to weigh your bag and pay for it to go under the bus...and then while the bus is loading, you have to physically stand there and point to it so the workers will put it on...and then you have to PAY THEM to put it on. By this point, I had had it and told him that I was able to put it on myself (I just didn't see the point) but he wouldn't let me, so I had to give in. When I went to board, the lady looked at my ticket and said that it was for the luxury bus at 9:30 and that this wasn't my bus. I almost lost it..she got it worked out for me but said that all she had left was the big bench seat in the back and I shouldn't ride there. I didn't understand why..it was a whole row of seats all to myself so I said I'd take it. When we all got on, the driver sat down and then yelled out something and the only thing I caught in the whole thing was 'obruni.' EVERYONE on the bus turned to look at me sitting in the middle in the back and I'm sure I had this "I want my mommy" look on my face. Finally someone yelled, "she's on!" so he cranked it up and we were on our way.

It didn't take long to figure out why they don't seat people in the back. Just picture and HUGE bus tearing down the road, packed full of people, and a little white girl in the back flying ALL OVER THE PLACE. I seriously thought I was going to break something. Someone finally told me that if I stand up when we bounce, I wouldn't hit the seat so hard when I came down (I think she was tired of hearing my little yelps). It worked but it was really tiring and the 5 hour ride was the longest of my life.

When I got to Takoradi, Getchen wasn't there so I made my way to internet cafe and found out that she was sick and couldn't come. I found a driver to take me to the Green Turtle but it was REALLY expensive and took a lot of money that I hadn't budgeted for. The ride to get there was really long and the last half is a HORRIBLE road that is really bumpy and muddy. I thought we were going to get stuck several times but we made it safe. The Green Turtle was really nice..I got this round clay bungalow literally right on the beach so you could hear the ocean the entire time. I spend ALL DAY Tuesday on the beach and had a really relaxing time. I had pretty much decided to come back early on Wednesday because I couldn't afford to stay any longer. When I woke up on Wednesday, there was a freaking monsoon outside and I flew out of bed and started packing my things so I wouldn't get stuck there. When I went to the lodge to get the driver and pay my bill, the rain and wind were horrible and people were running around, tying things down and putting things up. The driver (through someone else...he didn't speak english) said we would leave as soon as possible because it was going to get worse... so we left really quickly. Driving out from the lodge was really scary...the road was really bad and I thought that we were going to have to turn around a couple of times. The driver seemed confident though so I trusted him...until...brace yourself mom...he RAN OFF THE ROAD AND HIT A TREE! It wasn't too bad and didn't cause too much damage (the car was driveable) but it was REALLY scary and I'm just really glad it wasn't worse. He kept getting out to check it and mumbling to himself so...needless to say...the ride into the station took a little longer than planned. But I got there in one piece and caught my LUXURY bus back into Accra.

When I got to Accra, I was soooo happy to see Lisa and Gretchen. I was worried that they would be somewhere else or that they had gotten earlier flights out (they were both trying to get them) so when I saw the light to the room on...I almost fell down crying I was so happy. I typically don't mind being by myself but it was just a little much traveling by myself and staying in a dark, secluded bungalow all alone in a strange country. They had planned to come into Cape Coast today so I decided to come with them so I wouldn't have to hang out in Accra by myself. I'm heading back in to Accra tomorrow and then my flight leaves on Saturday!! I'm really excited to be coming home, I've had a great time but am ready for the U.S again.

I'm not gonna proof-read...don't have time...so hope it's not too bad reading. I'll try and post again before I leave, but if not...you'll be hearing from me when I'm back in the States.

Take care...and see you all soon!!
Laura

Advertisement



6th July 2006

Good Lord!
I hope you enjuoy your last couple days and then have a safe flight back to the states!!
7th July 2006

So happy your ok
I am glad you are ok. I am sure your Mom and Dad are freaking out and are ready for you to get back home. I hope to see you and your pictures when you get back. Have a safe trip home. See you soon
7th July 2006

DO NOT EVER DO THAT AGAIN, YOUNG LADY.
15th July 2006

WOW
Oh my gosh, Laura.....what an experience! In cases like this, all I can do is shake my head and say, "Ooooh, Ghana" (it's become a saying that I use:) Anyways, I hope you are a-okay and this will definitely be a memory for you!!! It's great having a Ghana buddy to bond over crazy things like this!!:)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb