The music stopped; where will I sit?


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Central » Cape Coast
July 18th 2005
Published: July 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am at Hans Cottage now. It is a beautiful place with all sorts of flowers and a pond. The restaurant overlooks the pond which has two large trees on two small islands. I went down for dinner and sat on the top floor to watch all of the birds that were flying around. There must be 300 small yellow birds living in the trees there. I was watching them fly down to the ground an pull out blades of grass measuring at least 1.5 feet. The one particular bird I was watching had been trying to weave the grass into his nest. I think he was adding a guest room. He was running into problems though. Another bird kept stealing the grass from him right after he began to push it into the nest. He would fly off with it and the victim would chase him and recover the stolen goods. The back and forth game continued for a few minutes and ended when the builder bird recovered the grass and quickly shoved the grass in the nest.

That is the extent of entertainment at Hans Cottage. I decided that I am only going to stay here one night because the meals are at least double what they would be at any restaurant and becuse its location is so far removed from town that I can not walk I must take a taxi.

So tomorrow I move again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb