Adjusting in August


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Ashanti
August 5th 2010
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post


Today Praise and I will go to our home in the village of Apebouso. The community has begun the process of registering the Child of Excellence Primary School. This is something that has been put on the back burner again and again. I am happy that the first steps have finally been taken.

Due to my involvement with the school, the Director of the Ministry of Education invited me to his office. During our meeting I came to realize some unpleasant truths. If the community continues with the registration some changes will take place. “Change” is often times a painful transition. Mostly due to age and lack of continued education (high school and teachers training) Hannah will not be added to the new payroll

Ebo, our long time friend and ministry partner, was present with me in each of the meetings. His final advice to me is so simple, “Everything has it’s time”. Taking into consideration his words, her age and increased frustrations and more frequent ailments and illnesses, I do agree with him. Though I hate to think of the transition this means for all of us. Madam Hannah has been with this school since its beginning several years ago. She has suffered many trials and tribulations yet has persevered. She loves the children and is quick to counsel them on life issues and family squabbles.
Please keep Hannah in your prayers. She has so little in life…

This month of August seems to be a time for change and adjustments.
Lisa has returned to her beloved family and cool MN weather. School is on “summer vacation” (1 month). Our three “Dunkwa Girls” have returned to their families in the village. Going from 9 people to 5 in just a few days, our daily “environment” feels quite empty.

Sometime in your life you’ve probably heard the expression, “I’m going to Timbuktu”. Or maybe somebody has told you to go there. Is it really a place? We tend to take it as a joke indicating a place far, far away. Well joke it may be but the fact remains, it really IS a place on this Planet Earth! It IS in fact far, far away. It is nestled in the heart of an African country on Ghana’s North West boarder. The country of Mali is predominately Muslim with an ancient history. The city of Timbuktu was a major international trade route. It became legendary in the European imagination representing all of the exotic wealth of Africa.

What a hoot to honestly be able to say, “I’ve been to Timbuktu”. This is my time! I have the funds. I and Kwabena are great travel partners. We can be up and on the road before dawn. Kwabs and I are good to travel long distances without a “nature call” (smile). I’m really on my way to Timbuktu! I want to ride a camel in the desert! After a year of talking, last week I seriously began checking and making preparations for the trip. In my search we checked with the US Embassy’s travel restrictions … That’s where everything came to a halt. I’m not easily scared off by environmental hardships or thieves etc. These situations can happen anywhere. What brought everything to a halt was when we read of several kidnappings of international travelers. We continued reading. Come to find out, Northern Mali (Timbuktu being in that zone) is a free operating zone for Al Qaeda! Well, I can permanently scratch that off the Bucket List. So close yet so far…

Searching for a camel closer to home (smile)
Christine & Co








Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb