The one where I sweat


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division » Serrekunda
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After 2 long days of mind-blowing travel, I have finally arrived. The journey started out in DC, then I flew to London for a small lay-over, and then to Madrid for the most tummultuous and angry 11 hour lay over ever. After being charged an extra 650 dollars to check our bags through SpanAir, Julia and I were thouroughly pissed. We arrived in Gambia at 2 am on friday, and surprise surpise, our ride wasnt there.

The intention from my friends to pick us up at the airport was completly honorable, except they thought we were coming on saturday. With no where to go, and no ride, we got some dude at the airport to drive us to my former land lords house, where we spent the night on the floor. We finally arrived to our most suitable house that morning. We currenlty do no have a stove or a kitchen sink, however, we DO have one of the most glorious, black amroirs with plastic gold and gems on it that I have ever seen. Im going to buy a big gaudy plastic floral arrangement for it.

Julia and I have both been pretty sick for the days we have been here. Ive mostly been lougning around the house in my underpants trying not to dehydrate. I forgot how hot it is here. Ive been sweating away, in complete and utter joy. I dont care how how it is or how long it took my to get here, I am here. And so happy.

I appologize for the lack of puncuation in this post, the key board is shitty and doesnt have them.

This week my next adventure is to find a job, possibly a goat I can keep as a pet, and food.

Quote of the day- The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. -Lao Tzo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb