The one where I explain


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division » Kololi
February 19th 2008
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If I had a nickel for every time someone asked me, “What drives you, why do you want to live in Africa, why do you love it so much?” I would be a rich woman. If I had a nickel for every strange face, smart-ass remark, glazed over look, I received when I tell people about my life in Africa; I would be an even richer woman. To answer the first question, and to potentially put an end to the second effect, I need to speak up. It’s taken me time to formulate why I love Africa so much, and a season of extreme frustration with the continent to make me realize these things. It’s not one thing, it’s a plethora of small things that equals one big word, LOVE.

1. Even when I’m pissed about things that go on here, and want to hit a wall, something in my day always makes me smile. You know you are in a worthwhile place if even the greatest frustrations don’t deter you from staying there.
2. It’s the perpetual sunshine and warm whether.
3. It’s the smiles and greetings I get everyday from strangers, without fail.
4. It’s the random dogs, and people, that follow me home. Not to hurt me, sometimes not even to say anything, but just to be with me.
5. It’s the undeniable sense of community that holds the country together.
6. It’s the kids whose whole face lights up when you give them a hug.
7. It’s the fact that I feel welcomed, needed, and purposeful here.
8. It’s the positive attitudes and smiles seen among the poorest of the poor.
9. It’s the people who show me life in a different way, and what really matters.
10. It’s the fact that somebody puts ecstasy in my juice cup everyday.

Quote of the post:
“It’s hard to stay mad when there’s so much beauty in the world. And I can’t help but feel anything but gratitude, for every little moment of my stupid little life” -American Beauty


Advertisement



25th February 2008

Alli, you should write as a career. I just read like 6 entries in a row, and maybe it's because I already lived there, but I just could feel like I was there, and you can just convey everything perfectly. Miss you and mbaa nga am jama rek.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb