Sara # 4 Out and About


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Benishangul-Gumuz Region » Asosa
March 14th 2008
Published: March 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK it’s been a good few days, so I though I’d better add another blog entry, plus Al has been nagging me!

It’s been a pretty busy few weeks. I got the opportunity to get out of the office and attended some workshops that are being run by my team, it was really interesting to get to experience some of the huge differences but also how many similarities there are too. The first workshop was in Assossa at the high school, the second got me out of town to a place called Bambasi - known for it’s milk, it was an hours journey, with some amazing scenery on the way, I swear people here must think I’m challenged in some way as I have spent the past few weeks with a big grin on my face, mostly because I’m getting the chance to see and do so many new things.

I managed to almost cause a riot at the school in Bambasi, the town probably doesn’t get many Ferneji as it’s somewhere you pass through on your way to Assosa.
But the kids quite literally just stopped and stared at the school, I was attracting quite a crowd, when I went into the workshop they were all crowding round the door and hanging through the window, so in the end one of the guys from my bureau suggested I went and said hello to try and get them to disperse, well that didn’t work and this was when I got mobbed, it was hilarious, I started saying hello and shaking hands, and the kids starting pushing each other and the crown got bigger and for a few moments I was actually scared for my safety, but don’t worry a man with a stick came along - I joke not.

The kids here are great - I know I’ve mentioned it before, but they are so curious and amazed to see you and are so very polite I find it really over whelming, when all they want is to shake your hand and say hello, and they’d run half a mile to catch up with you to do that, or cross over the road and nervously put their little hands out and try the few words they’ve been taught at school.

The school was in a really nice setting, even though the resources were very basic is was
Bambasi SchoolBambasi SchoolBambasi School

Some of the older classrooms and surrounding views
clean and tidy. There’s some beautiful hills and countryside all around Bambasi so I’d like to go back to explore sometime. My colleague Adem took me for lunch in town looked after me and translated. I’m really appreciative of this as it must be pretty hard work when I’m around constantly having to explain things and translate for me whilst also having to run some big workshops (approx 150 people, town leaders, heads of schools and key teachers). Adem really can talk, which is great because once he gets going he told me all the issues and details about the workshops and how stuff runs.

I opted out of trying the milk or yoghurt whilst I was in Bambasi, as it’s not pasteurised and well, I’m just not brave enough yet, I think I will take it easy on myself and just cope with one thing at a time, and I think dealing with the increasing temperature will do me for now. As it was a fasting day (no meat) I had a really nice meal of beuyaineutu. Basically Injera (see earlier top 10 entry) with lots of little vegetable dishes, beetroot salsa, dahl, shiro. Very tasty, Adem insisted I ate it all and had some more Shiro, and I couldn’t refuse could I!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Planning WorkshopPlanning Workshop
Planning Workshop

What no powerpoint!
UN vehicle on Bambasi High StreetUN vehicle on Bambasi High Street
UN vehicle on Bambasi High Street

I still can't help being impressed when ever I see them.


16th March 2008

very proud
what great photos. loved hearing about about the school/children. glad they are enjoying seeing you as much as you are enjoying seeing them. can we do anything to help with school resources.?

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb