Addis Ababa


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region
June 29th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The 10 hours I spent out of the airport in Addis Ababa on the way to Ghana were absolutely amazing, thanks to Dad’s hotel points. The hotel was like a palace (and I’m pretty sure it’s not just because I was out in the bush using a pit latrine and showering with a basin and cup for 1 month). When we pulled up through the gated driveway into the hotel, it took a lot to contain my excitement. I was in the Sheraton van (might I add that it was clean, not about to fall apart, and not crammed with 20+ people) with a bunch of business people so I think they may have found it quite strange had I squealed with joy.

The hotel room was pretty spiffy and high tech - I’m sure some of you are used to it, but I was quite fascinated. You put your key card into this slot and keep it there to control all the light switches and then there’s a master pad thing to control the temperature, lights, call the butler, etc. On top of this and the wonderful toilet and shower, my view from the 4th floor was stunning -
The viewThe viewThe view

So wish I could've gone in that pool
looked out to the pool which I sadly did not have time to use and the rest of the “palace” compound and a little of the city.

Not that I consider myself materialistic or really minded the dirt out in the bush, but it was nice to be pampered for one night. Thanks Papa!

What I saw of the city was a mix of the nice downtownish area and some of the slum-looking streets. On the way to the airport in the morning, I think it was a time of prayer for Muslims and everyone was standing by the wall of a large mosque or facing it from other streets. Seems like an interesting city that would be fun to visit on another trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The master switchThe master switch
The master switch

I had a lot of fun with this thing
The lobbyThe lobby
The lobby

Beautiful... and this place was free! =)


2nd July 2008

Leaving?
Hey Monica, It sounds like you've left Uganda already. Well, I can't wait to hear all about it. I hope Ghana is a good experience. Be safe and serve God!
15th August 2008

well written, but one correction, most of the people in Ethiopia are Christian (60%) not Muslim

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb