Last?


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
August 3rd 2008
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So this may or may not be my last update.
This week I've been learning how to respond to the "China!". "I'nay Ethiopia-we" or " Habasha". Which means "I'm Ethiopian" and "Native" respectively. Actually, according to my trusty sources (my Ethiopian teammates), "habasha" is actually one of the tribes in Ethiopia. Now, I haven't mentioned this before but there are around 80 ethnicities that reside in Ethiopia. So my situation at Layla House (where I work), is improving. Whatever was stirred up is slowly settling and I think the slumber party we had for some of the kids were a big part of that. Slumber parties aren't big in Ethiopia, so this was pretty new and exciting for both the kids and the Ethiopian teammates that attended. I think I'm really blessed to work around so much joy.
Regardless, even in the midst of hope I begin to realize why we even have to hope at all. We don't hope because better days have arrived but because we are in the midst of despair. Yes, I do work with children with much hope but recent events which I can't disclose but can assure you broke my heart have slapped me in the face. These children do have hope--most of them are in the process of being adopted, but everyday that they wake up in the orphanage is another day that "tomorrow" isn't here yet. For their delicate hearts, it's hard to swallow Please do pray that these children continue to look forward to tomorrow and that even more than finding earthly parents that they'll find their heavenly father. There is a deep and desperate need for healing for these children.
As you all know all of our team is in different areas of ministry. It divides mainly into orphanage work and street people work. So, for most of the trip, I've considered these two separate things. But during one of the debriefings, as the other half of the team shared about their experiences going out at night and observing the street people and prostitutes, I discovered that we are essentially working in one ministry. Evil feeds itself. It's not concentrated. It diffuses. The injustice amongst the street poor and the prostitutes diffuses into the lives of their children who end up in orphanages like where I work at. It's a disgusting feeling that human beings can wield so much power, let alone power that binds the weak and the defenseless. Yet it's a huge encouragement toward unity--I think that realization alone made me feel much closer to my team.
Last night the Ethiopian ladies had a celebration for all of us. I HAD MY FIRST COFFEE CEREMONY-- the traditional way of roasting, brewing, and drinking coffees. Interesting fact: there are three parts" 1. arbo (most concentrated coffee), 2. tuna (less) 3. Bareka (least concentrated). It was such a great time of fellowship. They prepared a dance and song for us. During the song, I was so moved by their passion for both God, his kingdom and their countrymen. They are very proud of who they are and where they come from and maybe I have something to learn from that. Anyways, watching them and living with them is a blessing that I never thought I'd notice. But it's been one of the biggest blessing on this trip.
Time is running out, AGAIN! So blessings until the next post or when I get back. Thanks. I wish I could write more. I barely touched upon the week! Great things are happening here. Nothing too shocking or shaking--- but deep, slow churnings in my heart. ( I got that from Shari... hi Shari)


Advertisement



5th August 2008

A bit of correction
creamcheese, I enjoy your blog entries. Your "trusty sources" have given you incorrect information. The word "Habesha" means people with fair complexion or light-skinned people. This includes Eritreans, Sudanese, Somalians and Ethiopians.
11th August 2008

With all due respect, may I kindly ask why you did not publish my earlier comments?
19th September 2008

sorry, it's just that I haven't been on for a while.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb