Just Flood It Out


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salaam again.
I'm still trying to get the hang of this whole internet thing. I just found out my first and my most "insightful" post wasn't even posted. Interesting...which leads me to the rest of this post.
Interesting has been probably the most overused (for good reason) word for this trip so far, especially this week. I finished my second full week at the orphanage. With the honeymoon stage over, it was fairly difficult to get through the week-- thinning patience, language barrier, lack of decent sleep. There is definitely lots of personal emotions and issues about matters of my own heart being stirred up as I work at the orphanage. It's refreshing to know where even I need healing and reconciliation; it's definitely not what I came here to do, but I'm glad it's happening anyway.
The sights and sounds are still new and refreshing. Although I do miss cream cheese, mexican food, my own mode of transportation and not being called "China" every 5 steps or so. Now, I'm not sure if Ethiopians are too big on cheese. Mexican food is definitely misleading. Diversity is an issue that isn't quite an issue (as is in America)-- ethnicity and nationality are often summed together like synonyms. I have not gotten tired of Injera. Rather, I love it! I encourage you all to find an Ethiopian restaurant somewhere and try it. In this slower paced, food-oriented society...ladies and gentlemen, I am thriving.
Now for some recap, the seminary we're staying in flooded last Saturday and we were moved to Gudina Tumsa where some people opened up a guest house for us. We just got back this week and we're still trying to get back on track. With all the uncertainty, we've looked for more structure to get us through, but I know more than extra regulations and changing of plans we need prayer to see us through the frustrations and confusion.
On Friday we also went to a charismatic Ethiopian church. The church specifically dealt with faith healing and casting out demons. Interesting. Very Interesting. In the United States, televangelist have given the Holy Spirit movement a bad name. Series of abuse of power and greed have tainted that part of Christianity. So we received the service with lots of skepticism about it's volume and size (equating it with showiness and seeking of fame or wealth), about it's biblical validity (partly due to the fact that the service was in Amharic, and some things were bound to be lost in translation). However, it was for sure that these people were in despair, these desperate people had no where else to go for hope of relief. There needed be no translation for that. We also didn't need translation for the desire of God to work and liberate these people according to his grace-- Exodus 14 (or somewhere around there) explains that God wishes to show his people salvation, that he wishes to fight for us. I suppose the biggest lesson I learned was that the motives of God's servants is between them and God; the important thing that we shouldn't miss is that God longs to liberate his people and usher them into the kingdom. Then yesterday, we climbed a mountain somewhat near Shimeda. The town's children followed us and kept us good company for the most part. But the moving part of it was looking out from the heights and down at the sprawling city of Addis Ababa. This is what God pursues-- he pursues the beauty he meant us to embrace. In the city, down below, it's filthy and poor, but heights are redeeming I suppose. Because I begin to understand that there is something save-able down there. It left me no room for cynicism about how the "poor will be with you always".

There is so much more going on around me. Just even a couple minutes before coming into the internet cafe. But I don't have enough room or birrs ( Ethiopian currency) to write all that I wish I could tell you about. I leave you all, asking for your continued prayers for breakthrough on this trip as we continue to seek God and his people. Amaseganallo for the thoughts and support you already have and have put into this trip. Peace.

Advertisement



29th July 2008

:)
I'm so glad you were able to take this trip! I love hearing about your updates :D

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb