A full day today


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
June 10th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

City ClinicCity ClinicCity Clinic

The clinic is in an open air environment, so walking between rooms or offices is all outside.
This morning I spent most of the day in the hotel, but this afternoon I got to see the Ethiopian Health System close up.

We toured a typical clinic and a private hospital. I have to say driving through the city of Addis, there are 10’s of thousands of people just walking around. The city has around 3 million people. There is nothing new here except this hotel and a new park that the same billionaire owner of the hotel built. This city is old and over crowded really falling down in most parts.

The Ethiopian people, especially now with the current situation, are very guarded and quiet, yet friendly in a strange way. Taking pictures of people causes fear unless you ask permission. Therefore, in these few pictures, that is the reason there are no people in them.

I have to say that it really is amazing how spoiled we are as US citizens. There is not a MRI machine in all of Ethiopia with 70 million people. But what the Dr's at the hospital told me, they would never dream of an MRI because no one could ever afford a test. They would wish
 The hospital lab... The hospital lab... The hospital lab...

Sherri,Jan and Janet this is for you! Their labs are very basic, I saw one microscope in the whole lab area. But it works, so thats what counts!
for better IV kits and very basic equipment. So MRI is not even a reasonable dream here.

I visited a HIV testing clinic and they do a rapid test where the results come in 20 minutes, they say it's about 10% infection rate per day of the patients(35-40) they see.( For those not in HIV that is high! ) They do not do a confirmatory test here at all. It's just too expensive. They actually say this percentage is down from last year. Mainly women test and men don't usually test until they are sick. The hospital last month had a 14% infection rate. This is due to people coming in when they are sick, so it is slightly higher then the VCT clinics.

I think I learned as much here in one afternoon about HIV as I have learned in the last couple of years. I was surprised they do have a grant from the US for HIV meds (some not all) and they have impacted here greatly. The fear is that the funding will disappear and all these people that are on meds now will die when the money runs out. The clinic director admitted
Private HospitalPrivate HospitalPrivate Hospital

From what I understand the private hospitals are so much nicer then government ones, this is one owned by our host! NO colored walls anywhere, everything is white like hospitals used to be back in the 50's in the US.
that she was reluctant about putting people on meds. She knew that maybe a year from now there will be no more medicine. However, she thought maybe this is giving someone a longer time with their family and that was what mattered. Going off meds may produce some drug resistant virus down the road. So this might cause greater problems later. It is really a tough situation. I know this is way too much info for those who are not in HIV but I just wanted to get a little bit written down about what I came here for. My group and I already have wheels turning about getting some studies done here with grant money that I have already been working on with DATA. OK, Enough on that!

I had a traditional Ethiopian meal tonight with entertainment... Well it could be worse. Actually it wasn't bad but there are lots of rituals when you eat that I had to be told about. The only thing I did know was to NEVER eat with your left hand. That is very offensive. (that is the hand you use to clean yourself) so you lefties that would be a problem!

Tomorrow I leave for the country so I will not have internet. I will return Monday and will check back then. Oh I did get my clothes bag this evening, they routed them through Kenya. So now that red bag with my supplies is seeing the world on it’s own! I am very disappointed because the supplies that I brought to take to the country are still in Europe and won’t be here until Sat. night. I will be gone. We fly out at 7 am, the hotel is taking care of it for me as they did with this bag! I have to admit it was like Christmas coming back and my stuff was here!!

One more thing, the opposition party and the government have come to agreement so tensions are lessened. This is positive news here and people seemed relieved but still shocked from Wed. events. I already can tell the difference. Within hoursof the news getting out, shops started to open slowly and more people where on the streets. Still no taxis, they are on strike, but that is a different issue all together. I have to stop here and get some rest for the journey tomorrow. Love to all!!!

Oh, one more thing, to those trying to comment on the site, Travelblog won't list your comments until I accept them. So I am getting all your comments. They just won't be added until I view them! Sorry about the confusion!


Advertisement



10th June 2005

Hello Kimmy! We love the pictures!!!! The kids and I are following your every move. You are so right Americans are so fortunate (and spoiled)! We take so much for granted. We are leaving in the am for Yellowstone and Tahoe for 2 weeks in the motorhome -- we will be on the look out for bears instead of soldiers. Be safe. Love you, Cindy - cindy
10th June 2005

Thanks for taking the time
Kim - this has been such a wonderful way to know of your trip and I truly appreciate all the writing you are doing. Am sure you'd be better off getting a little more rest. I'm so happy for you that you've gotten this opportunity. Take care. Ruth Ellsworth - Ruth Ellsworth
10th June 2005

Message from Mom!
Well it's late Friday night and I have been checking your site all day. Just talked with Marsha and she was as thrilled as your Dad and I are about this latest adventure. It's sounds like you haven't gotten much rest... I assume that you are now on your way to the country hospital. Nothing new here at home. All are well and checking up on you. PLease know that we miss you and love you much. Take your med's and get some down time.... Love, Mom - Mom
10th June 2005

Hi Kim, Your mom has talked me through this communication exchange travel blog, and it is is really great to be learning so much from your experiences. I am still trying to get information for you about Adora Iris Lee (a member of Peoples Congregational UCC0, who is serving with the Aids Commission in South Africa. I will be checking with a mutural friend in the next few days to get her location for you. Much love, Aunt Marsha - Aunt Marsha
11th June 2005

Hello Kim, I'm checking in to see how you're doing. How wonderful to be able live your dream and help others who are less fortunate. I will continue to follow your journey. Tweedles - Tweedles
12th June 2005

Collide
The music on the plane started your trip EVERYTHING IS GOING TO BE ALRIGHT, I am praying for you everyday, and safe journey's thanks for the look into your life while you are on a special journey in life. Your Friend Kim 1 - Kim Hicks

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb