Addis Ababa...Beautiful and Sad!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
June 10th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Addis Ababa SheratonAddis Ababa SheratonAddis Ababa Sheraton

This is from my window about 1 am (this time)
Where do I begin? I got to Amsterdam and after I blogged, I was waiting in a room to board a plane to Addis and people kept saying they were going to Khartoum (“cartoon”) which was in the Sudan. So I was confused and found out that the plane stopped in Khartoum to drop off and pick up people and fuel. I almost missed my flight by not wanting to get on. But all went well…

I sat next to a Canadian citizen who ran away from here (Ethiopia) 17 years ago to avoid army service. He was coming home to take his wife back to Canada for the first time after 9 years of marriage. Very smart guy with lots of stories and tips for my travel in his country. It made the long journey very pleasant. By the way KLM feeds you constantly and after you eat every time they want to offer you a cognac or a brandy. It’s weird but their flight attendants are like out of the1960’s when they were very young and had these “fake smiles” on their faces the entire time, like 10 hours. I felt like I was in a commercial… Worth
Addis Ababa SheratonAddis Ababa SheratonAddis Ababa Sheraton

This is from my window about 1 am (this time)
flying (oh accept that they lost my bags, I’ll get to that.)

The moments, I had on the plane while most were sleeping, I glanced out the window and I saw where the very blue and turquoise and green sea ran into a very brown, tan and gold desert. Crossing into Africa couldn’t have been more dramatic. The desert is nothing, no a road or movement of any kind from the area. Huge Sand dunes reached for the sky and hours passed as we flew over Egypt and still nothing, nothing at all. It was beautiful, but no real color, just brown.

We started to make our descent to Khartoum and there was a terrible sand storm, you couldn’t see anything but brown. The city had had it all day and when we finally were over the city all there was, was brown… No color. Everything was covered in sand. You can tell that the people there are going through rough times, we had to remain on board but I watched as the cleaning crew of mostly men in there 60’s were yelled at and commanded by a kid no older then 20. It was very upsetting to
Houses on the other angle of my viewHouses on the other angle of my viewHouses on the other angle of my view

These are homes on the hill side that is not the poorest of the city residents. These are not considered that bad.
watch. I am definitely in Africa.

Onto Addis, where I get off, go through customs. No problem, except no bags! One is in Boston and the other is in Amsterdam. Great! I can get one today and one late tomorrow, which is a problem. I am going to the country tomorrow until Monday or Tuesday. So I’ll have to figure a way out. The hotel has been very helpful in that regard. Problem is I want my clothes and things of course in one bag, but the supplies I brought were mainly for the people in the country, which one do I wish for first! Everyone pray my bags turn up soon!

One more thing… This city had a recent election in April and the results were suppose to come out yesterday and they have delayed them until next month… so some students at the university broke out in a riot and 20 were killed by the army. This was while I was in route. Another incident broke out at a market and another 20 were killed and 100’s wounded. The only reason I am sharing this with everyone is that I want you know that I am safe and will do nothing foolish! I have talked to our embassy (which I have to go to a meeting there soon) and locals about where the violence is and they all, even the US gov. assured me that, one Americans are not targeted… I don’t look Ethiopian at all and two the areas where I will be working have little to no military presence; and the military are the ones with the guns.

I am also staying at the nicest hotel in Africa… too much to describe, mainly because I needed Internet access but it’s really sad actually compared to the poverty right out the Huge Iron gates. I don’t really understand it but it is the best I have ever seen in a hotel. I feel kind of guilty staying here but on the other hand Sheraton has gone through lots of trouble to keep their guest safe and happy. So please don’t worry too much, everyone today says things are normalizing. This, as in many countries in Africa are ruled by soldiers (kids) and guns. They look so young yet they walk around with guns on their shoulders. The airport was full of the army, mostly talking and laughing with each other, but you could feel the presence. I promise I will keep everyone up to date as much as possible. The news here is in Amharic, so it is hard to follow, so I just ask everyone. Oh, one more thing I met with two of my Dr’s from Philly and Houston and they are going to be fun. I am not going to the orphanage today because I have no gifts, maybe later when I come back from the country. All is well!!! Day 1 of the adventure begins….


Advertisement



10th June 2005

We're here and keeping track
Kim, I am so looking forward to reading your entries each day. I am reading them to Stewart and Garrett and we are talking about things. Your entries are so moving and touching. They almost bring me to tears. I have many friends from Africa and how my heart goes out to the people of that country. As you travel, I thought this travelling prayer for protection might come in handy. O God, my God! I have set out from my home, holding fast unto the cord of Thy love, and I have committed myself wholly to Thy care and Thy protection. I entreat Thee by Thy power through which Thou didst protect Thy loved ones from the wayward and the perverse, and from every contumacious oppressor, and every wicked doer who hath strayed far from Thee, to keep me safe by Thy bounty and Thy grace. Enable me, then, to return to my home by Thy power and Thy might. Thou art, truly, the Almighty, the Help in Peril, the Self-Subsisting. Prayer by Baha'u'llah, Baha'i Prayers and Meditations Stewart also wanted me to tell you this quote after we read the part about kids with guns: "I charge you all that each one of you concentrate all the thoughts of your heart on love and unity. When a thought of war comes, opppose it by a stronger thought of peace." I have every confidence that you will have a safe experience. The boys and I will be tracking your trip each day this summer on our classroom map. Much love, Valarie - Valarie
10th June 2005

We're here and keeping track
Kim, I am so looking forward to reading your entries each day. This is my second try at this comment, so if you get it twice, it is just me trying to figure out how to do this blog thing. Your entries are so moving and touching. They almost bring me to tears. The boys and I are tracking your trip on our classroom map and reading your entries together and talking about things (life in US vs. Africa). It is very thought provoking. We have several friends from Africa including Sudan and my heart goes out to the people there. I have every confidence that your trip will be a safe one. I thought I would share with you a prayer for travel and protection that you can say anytime you need it. O God, my God! I have set out from my home, holding fast unto the cord of Thy love, and I have committed myself wholly to Thy care and Thy protection. I entreat Thee by Thy power through which Thou didst protect Thy loved ones from the wayward and the perverse, and from every contumacious oppressor, and every wicked doer who hath strayed far from Thee, to keep me safe by Thy bounty and Thy grace. Enable me, then, to return to my home by Thy power and Thy might. Thou art, truly, the Almighty, the Help in Peril, the Self-Subsisting. Baha'u'llah, Baha'i Prayers and Meditations Also, Stewart wanted me to send you this quote after we read the part about kids with guns: I charge you all that each one of you concentrate all the thoughts of your heart on love and unity. When a thought of war comes, oppose it by a stronger thought of peace. Much love, Valarie and the boys
12th June 2005

You are never too far away from my thoughts
Hi!! I check my computer several times a day to see if there is a new posting. As I said in the title, you are never too far away from my thoughts. I am loving your entries. Keep them coming!! They are so moving and vibrant. No baby yet, although I am more than ready but not before 37 weeks or they will make me go to the hospital...I've been keeping that as a mantra. Your trip allows me to live outside of myself and dream I am there with you in more than in spirit. So thanks for that. My heart goes out to all those people and I am so proud of you for taking on this task. I know your kids are too. What a terrific role model you are. Anyhoo, Val I loved your prayer but what is contumacious?? Love and Peace, KJ - Kelly Jo
12th June 2005

We're thinking about you/ praying for you
Hey Sis! Eugene, Jahanna, Jelani and I were so amazed and delighted to hear that you were making this trip. I know that you'll have many stories to tell, and what better way than this on-line journal? To have such easy access to you during your travels is reassuring, considering how volatile the political climate is in many African countries. Please continue to reassure us of your safety! Our prayers are with you for a fulfilling trip and safe return home. Our prayers are also with Dad and Carol as they take care of the kids... Love, your California family, the Blunts. - Jan Bouldin-Blunt
13th June 2005

Doo doo doo doo...
Ah, my "collide" friend! Just got back from a trip with the family to Hilton Head and got your email! Amazing how a song can put you in another place and time, literally and spiritually! I am so proud of what you are doing! I don't know if I could do it. You are an inspiration to many, and I am sure you will inspire many others that you don't even realize as you touch their lives along your journey. I look forward to living in your shoes during your trip! May your stars and moon watch over you. Be sure to do a moon dance for me... May God keep you safe along your travels, Laura - Laura Hemmerle

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb