Marsa Alam- I Found Nemo!!


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was an Easy trip. I met a guy named Easy, a dude named Marc, someone named Christian who goes by Harry (harry Christina or something like that), and some random older people. On the way Easy and I, easily met an Aussie from Melbourne named Hellen . At first glance I thought she was a Swiss-German, however after allowing us to sit, it was clear that she was some type of Anglophone. Good times. The plane went fast. Our plane planted itself in the middle of the desert, without much more than a couple buildings and some little sand mountains. Pascal is the coolest guy in the world. We took a comfy bus about 40 min away to the “port.” All the boats were tied to a piece of land by two ropes. We were greeted (I love using that phrase) by a handful of Egyptian kids who were eager to grab our bags, much like the situation that occurs when you arrive at the government dock on Harbour Island, Bahamas. One kid tried to grab my guitar case, but I quickly made a 180, giving him no chance - haha, I’m a fast American.
We boarded an air balloon and bungee-jumped down to the boat on our shoe-strings, got all our crap put into the sulfer-smelling rooms (actually only the AMERICAN room was sulfer smelling- ahhh I like), and then made our way up to the Saloon for our first group meeting with our trusty dive guide named Stephano from Italy. We went on a check-out dive - I used a lot of air, saw a couple clown fish defending an anemone with a little baby cutie small tiny baby miniature clown fishy swimming in and out. The Clown mummy and daddy were aggressively swimming toward my mask and fingers. I was actually a little scared - but just keep that between us…
I met some cool people from Egypt, they’re mostly, if not all, Muslim and very nice. Saiid, and Jacob were a couple guys that I talked to the most. Jacob is from Sudan, but has lived the last 13 years of his life in Egypt (about 10 hours from here). Many of the crew are interested in what I do. I’ve found that there are so many different ways to describe my job. To some, I say that I’m a missionary, to others I say that I work in Internaitonal Ministry. Most of the time, I start by saying that, “I work with internationals,” and it usually goes from there. We played some guitar at night, smoked some huka (water pipe or something like that), and then I fell into the top bunk within the first cabin on the right with my brother Ryan editing his pictures under me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb