Something possibly of intrest only to me...


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Luxor
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

You know how it is, you post a long, rambling entry, get out of the internet cafe, and straight away you remember a whole string of things you were meaning to mention or ramble about.

Then when you get back to the cafe, you can't remember any of them.

I can remember one thing I was going to write about, although I don't suppose anyone who reads this will be at all interested...

I have discovered the reason that the Egyptian civilisation ruled so greatly, and for so long. I found it in a poorly labled case in the 'objects from everyday life' room in the Cairo Museam, surrounded by razors and pulleys and such like.

It wasn't to do with the incredible fertility of the nile valley, or the possition at the crossroads of ancient civilisation, or anything like that.

The thing I found in the room was a dice. But not any dice, the like of which you can find in museams all over the world.

It was a twenty-sided dice. The egyptians invented the d20 sometime around 1000bc.

Well I think it's cool anyway.

Advertisement



18th October 2008

Your right....
a 20 sided dice is pretty cool - nearly as good as a round dice.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb