Taking it Easy in the Islands (Day 76 to Day 90)


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Aswan
April 5th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Words are pretty useless to describe vacations in Greek Islands. And it is so easy to take good pictures here. I could have uploaded hundreds of them.

To make a long story short, the two weeks I spent here were great. Even If it sometimes fell like a third world country, I had time to relax and to recharge the battery before the next part of the trip. The only problem with Greece is that you feel like you are in Thailand where it's poorer and most things don't work properly but you pay everything in euro. Anyway, no more Greece-bashing for now...

In two weeks I had time to visit Mykonos, Santorini, Crete, Rhodes and Athens. While Mykonos is the gayest place on Earth during the summer, it was pretty nice at that time of the year. There's no words to describe Santorini and its monstrous caldeira ... just amazing! And again, not too many tourists in March. Then, I learned that Crete cannot be visited in 3 days and it fell like we ran after our tails all along. But it was enough to have a glimpse out of it. Personally, Rhodes was my favorite. So rich
in history (my "crusader geek side" was well deserved!), in cultures, architectures (some kind of Turkish-Venetian-Greek mix) and in everything regarding Mother Nature. Finally, I completed my visit of Athens : 5 millions people living in a 2 millions people capacity! Some parts are better than others and sometimes it fell like they replaced donkeys by cars too quickly. But the old part of Athens is very delightful!

I am now in Aswan in the southest part of Egypt, a couple of hundreads km's from Sudan. It is quite a shock from my Greek vacations! All you can see from the airplane is sand, we landed in the middle of the desert, it is +40C outside in the shade and men hold hands when they walk together ...

I'll give more news as soon as I am out of Egypt, probably in Cyprus...

Love

Nik xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Rhodes IIIRhodes III
Rhodes III

From our terrace in Rhodes ...


5th April 2010

I enjoyed your Egypt post. I have always wanted to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or come check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com. Continued fun on your travels, Eric
31st December 2010

My favorite
I've done a lot of traveling and Greece still remains my favorite. I have not made it to Rhodes yet but will add that to the list. Thanks for sharing-- this blog brought back some good memories. Great photos! You are right it is hard not to take good photos.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb