More Egypt Adventures


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Upper Egypt » Aswan
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!!!

Now where did i last leave you..? Ah thats right Cairo. The following day we travelled to the Pryamids, the spinx and the egyption museium. It was soooo amazing and it did not feel real the whole time i was there. I was half expecting to wake up and it was all a dream. I had to get one of my fellow travellers to pinch me.

My group is small, there are seven of us...
Dan & Sam a newly married couple, Kurt & Brigette a married couple from melbourne, Walt and older man from the states and used to work for national geographic as a photographer (OMG!!!!) and then there is Ryan from townsville. We have been hanging out the most cause the couples do their own thing and we are a similar age so we have more in common.

After spending a huge last day in Cairo we took an overnight train to aswan (18hrs!!!!!!!) with no beds so it meant i had to inject myself with clexaine again.ouchhh!!! the first time i did that was before i left the airport..Dad if your reading this i did a lot better this time hahaha.

When we finaly arrived in aswan, we checking into our very interesting hostel. I have a room to myself which is good but my toilet keeps running and is very noisy and doesnt flush....great. oh and there is this cat that screams really loudly all night, it sounds like its being murded or something. That afternoon we took a boat ride on the nile to the desert and rode camels to a nubian village were we had dinner and music and dancing. It was so amazing - definately a highlight of the trip : )

Yesterday to took a bus for 3hrs to the temples of abu simbel. I just can't beleive they managed to move it so well. It is a bit of a shame cause there is quite a bit of graffity from 100 years on scratched into the carvings. I tried my skills at bartering for souvenirs and thought i did pretty well, only to find i had been majorly ripped off according to my tour leader...haha oh well everything is pretty cheap anyways!

Have been getting lots of photos - currently sitting on 450. I am having trouble uploding them as the files are too big.

Today we are leaving for a feluca ride for two days up the nile to luxor which i am really looking forward too!!! It is absolutley beautiful sailing on the nile!!!

I have been thinking of not doing the end part of my tour in the desert because it will not be a pleasant journey (on my bday) and i am starting to have had enough of egypt and the pollution and not being able to breathe all the time. Ryan is also leaving the tour at alexandria and we are thingking we might go to greece instead. It all depends on cost etc so am trying to find out. I will keep you all posted of any changes.

Well i will leave it there for now as we are about to leave for the felucas yay@!!!

Hope you are all well!!!!

Lots of love,

JEss





Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb