Sinai Mountains and Saint Catherine's Monastery


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

1st January 2007

Great photos. Always wondered what this large mass of mysterious land looks like. One doesn't get to read or see much of it in most books. Wished I could rate your photos, but the rating system seems to be down. In spite of being desert, it's still quite beautiful.
7th January 2007

“Stay Duned” ...witty!
You have scored top marks for the pictures again,great stuff. I especially like the picture of the looooong TRAFFIC FREE! desert road (Sinai). Believe me after living in a crowded city it makes me appreciate the Sinai road. I can imagine myself putting my foot to the floor and hammering down there on my bike or the car. Isn't it fascinating to find a monastery in the middle of a desert and even more fascinating that the monastery represents such a congruity of the three religions which often are at conflict with each other even to this day. Within the monastery walls there is the The Fatimid Mosque- the Muslim and Christian sacred domains sitting comfortably with each other, wow fancy that ! Your pictures show the colours of the desert terrain really well—stark they may look, but there is a beauty about the starkness and desolation of such a hostile environment. Writing about your personal experiences and thoughts makes it so much more interesting for me as a reader.
9th March 2007

Izzy
This bring back some memories for me I wish I was in the 70’s again-you would not know about the 70s would you? Great pici’s well done Steffen never disappoint do you? keep them coming who needs to go on holl's I’ll just read your journals instead

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 23; qc: 98; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb