Ain Sokhna and the Red Sea


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Red Sea
September 27th 2011
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Ain SokhnaAin SokhnaAin Sokhna

So Excited!
Ahlan wa Sahlan ya Shabab!

This past weekend I found myself going two hours outside of Cairo for a follow up orientation through AUC to Ain Sokhna, a resort port city on the Red Sea. While all the students from AUC had to sit through two short presentations on harassment and safety it was well worth the FREE trip to the beach!

Most people forget that Egypt has much more than just ancient Egyptian sites and deserts. The Red Sea is actually a huge part of Egypt's tourism, especially for people who travel down from Europe. And who can blame them? The Red Sea is quite spectacular!

While I have already been in the Red Sea on the Jordanian side in the port city of Aqaba, my opinion is that the water is definitely warmer and more calm in Egypt. It was fun to relax and sit in the sun on the beach and swim in the crystal clear water with the colored fish (I have never seen water so clear). While unfortunately there were no reefs to snorkel near in this part of the sea it was made up by seeing dolphins, twice! The
Ain SokhnaAin SokhnaAin Sokhna

Dolphins
dolphins were absolutely amazing and it was awesome to see them in their natural habitat just swimming along. We ended our relaxing day by eating dinner on the beach, which was gorgeous with the sunset.

The trip was truly spectacular and a great way to kick start my 4th week of classes (time sure does seem to fly here!). Hopefully my next blog entry will be about my trip to Jordan next weekend (we have a 3 day weekend) with my roommate! I'm so looking forward to going back to Jordan, my first Middle Eastern country where I traveled and studied. Until next time, Shukran Jazeelan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ain SokhnaAin Sokhna
Ain Sokhna

The Beach
Ain SokhnaAin Sokhna
Ain Sokhna

The Town


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb