The sea of Sharm


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Red Sea » Sharm el-Sheikh
May 3rd 2011
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Diving



I did my Open water and Advanced in Malta and have since dived in Turkey (aka sea of nothing) and England (brrrr....is the only way to sum that up!) so my diving has been quite limited. Lets just say the Red Sea is 'summing else!' I dont even think my imagination could create the amazing reefs I've been diving recently. The fish are in abundance and the temperature beautiful. The first 3 days of my trip I spent doing my Rescue and EFR course, the latter which mainly consists of the phrase 'Hi I am X, I am an emergency response handler, May I help you?' If my Grandma was having a heart attack on the floor that is NOT the first thing I would start my rescue with thats for sure! I would more likely be saying 'Shit are you ok?! Ahhh crap phone 999' but thats just me! Nor do I carry around a pair of latex gloves and a pocket mask but hey, Americans can be a little strange sometimes :P

My Rescue course on the other hand was brilliant and I would recommend ANY diver to at least get up to that level, it not only makes you a better and safer diver but its a fun course and more demanding than the previous 3 which I found great! I personally find the Open Water a 'leetle too easy'. I definatly wasn't good enough to dive without an proper guide thats for sure! The Rescue itself consists of 5 knowledge reviews, a DVD, 2 confined dives and 2 open water dives, and you learn things from what to do if you find an unconscious diver underwater to how to calm a panicked diver on the surface (which is NOT easy if there a lot bigger than you and enjoy acting like my instructor 😊 Who to a beach dweller probably looked like he was drowning!).

I have spent a couple of days aboard one of Oonas's dive boats called the Obi Wan and done a few fun dives. This is when I started to REALLY pay attention to the aquatic life. In Malta even though the wrecks are GREAT the fish get pretty monotomous after 3 dives. But here...you'll see different one almost every dive! Today I saw a clown fish (like Nemo but the Red Sea ones are bigger than their Aussie friends) wriggling around in its anenome which was really cool! Esspecially since we were down 18 metres and red falls off the spectrum that deep (it was a fluroescent anenome meaning it retains its colour) so was nice to see somthing colourful. There were also some MASSIVE fan corals (or if you want to be pedantic gorgonian!) which are a good hundred years old! I was paying a hell of a lot of attention to where my fins were! Banging a century olf coral off the reef would nawt be good! But wow, I will have to get a camera and take pics to show you peeps! Oooh and some of the instructors have seen a couple of sharks recently (Tiger abd Oceanic White tip) so fingers crossed!!! I have now started my Dive master course which means I am an assistant to the instructors (aka their bitch :P well they went through it as well!) and so far so good! Its interesting learing from a teaching point of view.

Well I will be spending the next few days doing fun fun exams!

P.s Internet is shite so no photos 😞 Stupid Java wont load

Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb