The Pyramids of Giza


Advertisement
Egypt's flag
Africa » Egypt » Lower Egypt » Giza
April 15th 2009
Published: May 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I navigated my way through the underground, trying to find my way to the new hotel. I had forgotten to take the address of the hotel were we were all supposed to be meeting at, so I texted my two brothers in England, Oliver and Freddie. Low and behold 10 mins later Freddie was the first to text back with the address and funnily enough sent me on a wild goose chase across Cairo to a street with the same name as the one with the hotel on...oh well...that is the way to learn! I eventually asked a taxi driver and he proceeded to take me 3 miles back across town the way I had come. Thank you Freddie! 😊
The following day we went to the Egyptian Museum and of course the ever famous Pyramids, the last standing member of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The Pyramids are believed to have been built around 2560BC as tombs for Kings and Queens. When they were built, the largest of them towered 480ft high and for 3,800 years it remained the tallest man-made structure. They used to have smooth outer edges but time has worn them away to reveal the actual rocks used to build them; tourists were once allowed to brave it up the side of the Pyramids but too many fatalities resulted in it to being disallowed.

On the same site as the Pyrmaids is that of the Sphinx. Standing 241 ft long, 20 ft wide, and 65 ft high, the Sphinx is a human head, built onto a reclining lion.

It was amazing to walk around these amazing strutures, trying to understand the enormous effort and man power it must have taken to build them. I found it increasingly hard to justify them and try and put them into perspective!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The topThe top
The top

Here you can see where the smooth bit at the top. This is what the all the Pyramids used to look like but erosion has taken its toll.
RocksRocks
Rocks

Here you can see just how big some of the rocks were.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb