83 Days to Take-Off


Advertisement
Cameroon's flag
Africa » Cameroon
September 20th 2005
Published: September 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Eighty-three days sounds like a long time but it's less than three months until we leave for Cameroon, West Africa. There are tons of details to take care of before then: renewing passports, applying for visas, getting appropriate immunizations and last, but not least by any measure, packing.

This is the story: As a 20 year old college graduate, I went to Cameroon to teach in 1980. I taught lit, math, and typing at Saker Baptist College. While there I met a young man (dressed in an orange polyester western leisure suit, with white cowboy boots, and sporting a Jackson Five 'fro -- but that's another story) who impressed me. After my two year tour, I returned to the US. Two years later, Joseph came to the US to finish his studies. We had kept in contact by mail and, in 1987, were married. Eighteen years later, we are the parents of three: Daniel -- 17, Ruth -- 15, and Paul --13.

Since Daniel will be leaving for college in a year, we thought we should take a family trip back to Cameroon. Daniel has been to Cameroon once, Paul once, and Ruth not at all. I haven't been back since I left. My parents, Don and Nancy Miller, have always dreamed of going to Africa and have decided to join us on our trip. In addition, one of Dan's closest friends, Cody, is trying to book a seat on the same flights with us.

We are leaving Oregon on Dec. 12, and returning on January 3. We have a full itinerary planned visiting friends and relatives, touring the country, and doing some ministry through Good Samaritan Ministries in Cameroon. It should be quite an adventure!

I'll blog now and again prior to our trip but watch for the real action to begin in mid-December.



Advertisement



21st September 2005

Enchanted
Fascinating. I am booking a front row seat right now. One question tough I am dying to ask, Does he still wear the Afro?
1st October 2005

Sadly no
The 'fro went the way of the polyester suits... My boys now wear 'fros although not the Jackson 5 style. I'll post pictures in the near future.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb