Well, it was bound to happen eventually...


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
August 26th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone
Well, after 3 months and 20 days of fairly reasonable health, I finally came to that glorious day that every expat looks forward to: their first bout of malaria.

Now I don't want all the folks back home to worry too much. The fact that I can sit up well enough to write this proves that I already have a much lighter case than most. Best of all, I seem to have the lightest case anyone can remember; just some fatigue, a bit of a headache, and some fever when I'm sleeping. Normally, malaria is one of those kick-your-ass-one-foot-in-the-grave illnesses, but for some reason I've got a really mild dose. And I'm not complaining! We did a blood test to confirm, and sure enough I've got it, with an average concentration of the parasite in my blood. Very interesting... Janice, I tie this back to the poison ivy story which proves we're actually invincible! 😊

Anyway, it's kind of a notch in the belt to say you've had malaria. It's all part of the African experience and it was bound to happen eventually. Unfortunately it's not like chicken pox where you get it once and then you're finished. I know people here who have had it numerous times, with varying degrees of illness. On the bright side, with my Kilimanjaro climb coming soon it's good that I'm not too sick, and that I have a few weeks to get over it before the climb. It makes me panic just a bit cuz I'm losing out on some of the last-minute training I wanted to squeeze in, but rest is probably the best thing for me anyway.

I've been trying not to stay too cooped up while being sick, cuz I feel essentially fine. I went out for supper last night (but got to bed at a reasonable time) with some mining guys here. Today I went over to watch the rugby match (South Africa v New Zealand) with some South Africans I know here. Unfortunately the Springboks didn't have their strongest showing and there was much cursing at the TV. It is nice to watch international rugby fairly regularly here, and not have to pay for it! Take THAT Heart and Crown! (paying $15 to watch 6-nations... ridiculous...)

So I hope the rest of you back home are doing well and malaria-free (of course you are!).

Much love,
-Brownie

Advertisement



27th August 2006

Malaria
Linds: You probably are having a light dose of it because you have become so fit. The fact that you have been training is kind of two fold. You get really fit and are able to fight off a lot of stuff, but because your young, and I say this, with the most respect, the young have a tendency to feel invincible, and therefore push their limits sometimes, you may have let yourself get just a touch "not enough rest" and therefore you are wide open to such maladies. Think so? All our love and take care of yourself, you are strong and resourceful, take charge and rest, but keep up the good fight. Love You Bud and Gail
28th August 2006

MALARIA
GET WELL SOON LINDSEY!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb