Quite a bad adventure...


Advertisement
Burkina Faso's flag
Africa » Burkina Faso » Centre » Ouagadougou
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It was Sunday morning, around 4h30 AM, I was stupidly going back home after a night out in the clubs, things I have been doing about every weekend lately. My girl friend and I splitted up at the bar and as usual, said that we would send each other a message to make sure we were home safe. That night, I didnt send my friend a text message.

I suposed the thieves have been spying on me or looking at my movements in the past week and maybe notice that white girl on her moto out late every saturday. I was driving on Kwame-Khumah, this big European street where you almost feel like you are in Toronto. Then, arrived at some point, I turn right on this somewhat not too safe road to go towards my neighbourhood. I never actually felt like this road was not safe. My friends also always take that road to go back home..

At some point, out of the blue, this moto comes and glues itself right next to mine, on my right side.. I was like 'What the fuck?'. I thought the guys didn't know how to drive or were drunk or something, until I felt my bag slipping off my jacket. They were 2 men on the moto. The one in the back for sure had a knife since my bag didnt need to go on top of my head to be stolen. They drove away, so fucking fast!!! And my moto doesnt have speeds, and therefore, although i had the maximum gaz on, I wasn't able to reach them. They were slowly getting out of my sight.

I shouted! About every swear word I knew!! For some reason, they all came out in english! 😊

So, I lost my cards, my bank card, my visa card, my passport, my camera (with no batteries and no memery stick), my head lamp, my glasses and Vaseline.. and... my actual bag! A nice one I bought in Mali! I'm so sad!

But my moral is still there. People tell me I'll find my papers and passport. Usually, they only want the money and they throw out the rest. Then someone will find them and either leave them pending on some tree branch in that neighbourhood, bring them to the police (where I went to fill out a declaration) or bring them to a radio station (and I told everyone i knew to listen carefully to the radio)

So.. hopefully, I will get some help, as everything in this Burkina world is done word of mouth.

The worse part for me is to loose my camera. I still want souvenirs for the last 2 months and a half. But i still have my memory stick. So i might just ask my friend Daniel to lend me his once in a while. He has an upgraded version of the one I had.

BUt yeah, it's quite an adventure. I am so thankful I didnt get hurt, fell down of the moto, or even died. Everyone tells me I am really lucky!!

We learn a lot .....
Really... We continously learn here... and everyday, you feel like you have one or two more lessons to put on your daily things to do... But, i mean, we can't be perfect. I know I have my faults in this. I was surely looking for trouble without realising it. Comes a point where you really trust the country and you wouldn't think something like that would happen to you. But anyone can be a victim.

As my mom told me, since the strike that happened on Thursday, it seems like there has been an increase in thefts and things like that. So... I guess that included me in their statistics!!

But dont worry peeps! I'm still there, still got a smile, and life goes on!!!.. Even though it will cost me lots moneywise. Money is not everything in life!! I'm still alive and that's the only thing that matters!!

Love you all!!

Advertisement



4th March 2008

oye
Dude, that sucks! Hopefully you get the important stuff back. Glad you're not getting too down about it. -Angela

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb