Quick trip over to Botswana....


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana
June 7th 2006
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's starting to feel like and every day sort of thing!

I left Windhoek last Saturday to help out the Botswana team in Francistown. I didn't really want to leave Windhoek, but I was a little excited about seeing Botswana... Yeah well so much for that excitement. The most exciting this trip got was when I got into this tiny propellar plane from Jo'burg to Gaborone. I think Botswana must be very nice when you do one of those ridiculously expensive safaris or hang out in the villages... I didn't really experience Gaborone, but Francistown sucks.

Seriously the vibe I've been getting from the locals is that they hate white people. It's a lot like my flight from Dubai to Nairobi and it's very disturbing. I've been harrassed and made fun of numerous times. Yesterday I met a few nice people when I visited firms, but that was exceptional. It probably has to do a lot with the fact that Botswana is a middle-income country. But, at least in the case of Francistown, it doesn't have the charm (nor the segregration which is a positive note for Botswana) as Windhoek. Let's put it this way: the big thing here are malls, the kind you would find in the suburbs of Montreal.

Anyway enough negative talk! I should be leaving on schedule back to Windhoek on Saturday. Looks like things have picked up there and there will be lots to do.

I probably won't have Internet access until then (Internet is difficult to come by in Francistown... it's the first time I've had time to get to a cafe since I've arrived!) but will update as soon as I can (and have something interesting to say).

Advertisement



8th June 2006

Okay, interest piqued
What about the malls? Hope you're keeping well over there, Canada's still here. Give me a call when you get back and we can swap war stories. And I'll keep my ear down for any juicy intelligence about your area.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb