MONKEYS!


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » South-East » Gaborone
August 8th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I do not know where I left off last so here is the last week in review:

Went to the Baylor Clinic for Pediatric AIDS, brought items to donate to the "morning playgroup" interacted a bit with the kids then spent a few hours making their area more organized, clean and not filled with boxes (considering their space is basically a cubby under a stairwell). Spent the rest of the day going through government medical clinic, taking 18 year old Mati' that struggles with bone cancer, to get chemo.

Went to take Bokang to his Speech Dr but she canceled so we still went to the city to pick up medicine for his caregiver, after waits and 2 clinics we only got half the medicine. Bokang hooted and hollared at every big truck he saw and he stared out the window on the edge of his seat. 😊

Walked around te village, was proud of myself to find my way out. Passed out a few t-shirts to some children, took photos along the walk. Went to Tumalong, the school for orphans in the village, the children are not in school at this time, but talked to Richard a Peace Corp Volunteer from Atlanta. He walked with me back to the cottage, I introduced him to Heidi. I will be hopefully volunteering there Monday when the kids return.

I made a big dinner and we invited Heidi and Richard over. Richard ate multiple helpings, as he apparently has not eaten much since arriving in the village. He does not have water or a refrigerator so it is hard to store food.

Developed photos of the children I took while they did the Love project, gave other photos of people in the village to them. They were excited. Put most of the video clips I have taken onto CD-R, I have filled 4 of them.

Went to the Gabarone Game Reserve (probably like a san diego wild animal park..) Saw beautiful animals. Fed Vervet monkeys from my hand... i was in heaven. Saw many cute monkeys. 😊

Finished reading "My Story" by Dave Pelzer. (It includes his 3 books - "A child Called IT", "The Lost Boy" and "A man Named Dave"
It was nearly 500 pages, but it was great. That means in 2 weeks I have read 5 books. That is probably the amount I have read in my entire life. Best thingis I did not use anything to distract me, no music or TV, I made it through all of them. Big personal accomplishment.

My boyfriend turns 30 today and I am sad not to be there with him to celebrate. Happy Birthday Kripa! 😊

I miss you all. By the way I can RECEIVE text messages for FREE I just can not send anything back, so please keep me posted on life! I love getting messages.


LOVE LOVE LOVE
e

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb