What happens in Maun stays in Maun


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Maun
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So a very small part of me regrets not keeping up with my TB whilst away, a larger part of me however spent a lot of time being very rude about people who were obsessive over blog keeping. So now I find myself once again stuck at home alone and very bored, so I thought i'd give my brain some exercise and start typing up my blog...if anyone has any other ideas please send them to me!

Anyway.

I arrived in Botswana having spent the best part of three weeks in Zimbabwe, it will come as no suprise to anybody who has visited Zimbabwe of late that the first order of business was visiting a supermarket in Kasane, Botswanas version of a border town (albeit an hour from the border) I experienced a similair head spinning sensation as happened in Livingstone. All the choices and bright colours and clever marketing slogans had me in a tizzy, I emerged from the shop half an hour later with 14 cans of coke and a chocolate bar by the name of "Ngochani" apparently a zimbabwean owned company....

I cruised down chobe river. I saw animals. It was exciting.

Maun is the most boring town on earth, and I do mean that, it has more sand then most beaches seriously the roads AND pavements are made of sand, the carparks are made of sand and the King of Maun lives in a sandcastle hahahah, geddit?? Yeah I know i'm super funny. No but seriously I was presented with the prospect of spending three hours in Maun, at which point I broke down and wept.

The Okavango Delta was awesome in a "This reminds me of when I was in the Okavango delta..." kind of way. You know, impressing people in bars and at dinner parties. Not that I go to dinner parties because I am a social pariah. And I once killed a man. In Reno.

I don't really have a lot more to say about Botswana other then the fact that it is incredibly flat, and I do mean F-L-A-T the directions from kasana to Maun go like this "Turn right then go 300 km's turn left" Literally.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb