The freedom of a truck!


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-East
February 8th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

Now where are we going?Now where are we going?Now where are we going?

Leaving Phikwe headed to Maun. After 2 years of taking buses everywhere Jerry was elated to be driving.
After a long-ish bus ride from Gabarone, we arrived in Selebi-Phikwe (sa-leeb-peek-way) and were met by Sarah and Pilar, 2 amazing Peace Corps women, who took us back to their flats (they live next door to each other), and we settled in for the evening.

Sarah made chili for dinner, and after not having eaten much since arriving in Africa, I was elated to have familiar food. The 4 of us talked for a while, then Jerry and Pilar decided to call it a night, while Sarah and I stayed up for hours discussing Botswana and life in general. It was a really fantastic conversation, and I greatly enjoyed getting to know Sarah.

In the morning, we got ready to start our driving adventure.

Botswana is a country that drives on the right, so being a left-side-of the-road kinda girl, I was hesitant to drive. Fortunately that was no problem for Jerry. It had been 2 years since he was behind the wheel of a car, albeit a little nervous, he was VERY excited to be driving.

We left Selebi-Phikwe and headed to Francistown for gas and some food. From there we headed north to Maun to
Look at me!Look at me!Look at me!

Having replaced my stolen camera, I attempted this self portrait.
stay with Dani, another Peace Corps Volunteer.

We arrived in Maun just before sunset, checked our email then headed to Dani's. Upon arrival at her pad, we were approached by 3 little kids who, Dani told us, love to get hugs from white people. We hugged the kids, brought in our bags, grabbed a glass of (box) wine, and started to relax. While Jerry and Dani talked I played jump rope with the girls before realizing that I haven't done that in a long time, and retired inside to chat.

For dinner we went to a local hotel/lodge. Jerry had been telling me about ostrich stir-fry, and this was the place to get it. And let me tell ya....ostrich is good. I ordered fish, and it was probably the best fish I have had. Can't remember the name of it at the moment, but AWESOME sums it up.

Post dinner we returned to Dani's for more wine and conversation.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rainy daysRainy days
Rainy days

Prior to my arrival in Botswana, there had been 2 straight weeks of rain. The rain flooded the pans all across Botswana, and in this case was covering the road.
YIPEE!YIPEE!
YIPEE!

Jerry...just as vital as water1
Oh the bugs....Oh the bugs....
Oh the bugs....

And it thought this one was big. Ohhhhh no. They get 3 times this size.
The chid'renThe chid'ren
The chid'ren

Great group of little kids. The two of us on the left are making funny noises..hence the funny faces.
Da TruckDa Truck
Da Truck

This is the 4x4 we rented. Go Safari!


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb