How to Spend a Long Weekend in Cotonou


Advertisement
Benin's flag
Africa » Benin » South » Cotonou
January 15th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Step 1: Disassemble plans. They hadn’t really meant anything, anyway. Don’t be silly.

I left Athiémé as early as possible Friday morning to arrive on time to apply for a visa for Ghana. I made it to Cotonou by noon, and happened to find a volunteer-friend (she volunteered to be my friend) at the office. She gave me two critical pieces of information because she is a good volunteer: 1) that I needed my passport to have the visa stamped in, but because I am kinda stupid, my passport was still in Athiémé, and 2) that Ghana was on holiday, so the embassy wasn’t even open.

Step 2: Eat good food that differs from the usual good food.

Instead of getting frustrated, I got lunch. I like to economize my time.

Step 3: Hang out with Americans.

I traveled with two other volunteers to Pobé for a health volunteer’s AIDS celebration the following day. She worked very hard and pulled off a wonderful celebration/information session. I discovered that I am not the only person who survives all the headaches involved in organizing a ceremony.

Step 4: Release weeks and months worth of contained ball-sport energy, and energy in general.

Sunday morning, early, I played basketball. Oh my gosh I like basketball. Basketball on Sunday mornings in Cotonou is a recent discovery. I was so excited to play that I kept waking up throughout the night to make sure I hadn’t missed my alarm. At 6h30 I got out of bed, and by 6h45, I was at the court. None of the other women were there, so I asked people who were around when the others showed up. I was told the basketballers arrive by 7h30 or 8h. Right.
So I shot around a bit, but when the women arrived, I PLAYED. I played basketball with beautiful Beninese women who know how to play- defense, offense, full-court, rebounding, shooting, passing, and the best part- no ridiculous fouling. I do love basketball, even more when played with savoir-faire.
I was drenched. In sweat. I kept playing, even with the men (who were not as good as the women, I thought) until 10h. I returned to the hotel and bathed. I like bathing almost as much as getting dirty.
I ate lunch (refer to step two), then put on my swimsuit to play beach volleyball in style- kind of; my swimsuit is old.
My beach-volley team was pretty darn good. We were an American/ French/Beninese team, and won fairly easily. We lost in the semifinals, and the crowd was disappointed.

Step 5: Feel kinda stupid while giving blood.

I did eat before donating, but really I probably shouldn’t volunteer blood anymore. Everything flowed out fine, I was chatting and laughing, but as I finished…
Jerome (the nurse): Okay, I might hurt you a bit to pull the needle out.
Erika (laughing): No, don’t hurt me!
Jerome (smiling): Sorry, here goes…

He pulled the needle out, and I fainted. As I was waking up, I was realizing at the same time that a sugar cube was dissolving in my mouth, where there was also a straw to a Coke, and I had ice on my forehead and stomach. I was sweating and seeing stars.
But I recovered quickly. I rested in the movie room at the Peace Corps office, and was able to complete step six.

Step 6: Drink beer.

We, the American volunteers, met up with the French, Japanese, and Beninese volunteers, with whom we had played volleyball the day before. We had a nice evening of chatting and excellent Dorado (refer again to step two).

Step 7: Become impatient to get back to Athiémé.

On Tuesday, the day I was finally able to get my Ghana visa, I waited until 14h to go to the embassy to pick up my passport. The same volunteer-friend previously mentioned had stopped by my home to pick it up for me. Sigh of relief. I only needed Togo’s visa, which usually takes ten minutes to possess, before going home. Except this time, the consular was not in the office to sign. Noooooo! Refer, please, to step one. I filled out the paperwork and found another volunteer who could pick up the visa for me later. I was going home.

P.S.- In my absence from Athiémé, a wild buffalo had found it’s way across the river, terrorizing the poor little village for hours before being killed. Of course, she only terrorized after she had been provoked, but a large animal like a buffalo is pretty scary to have amongst humans. Too bad I missed out. I tasted the meat though, and it was very good.

Advertisement



16th January 2007

I loved all three of your blogs. I think i should win some money. I would come visit you right away. I'm soooo jealous of your family, but also so very happy for them. Talk to you soon!
17th January 2007

again?
You didn't tell me that you fainted again!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb