Furniture, Fashion and Food


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay
January 7th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dear Reader

There are lots of ways into another culture from afar –



The other day when Guapo and I were browsing through the local Salvation Army store, we came across a buffet, or sideboard, in Spanish colonial style. It looks unusual for our area where most old furniture is either colonial Australian, or English. We had to have it! It’s made of dark coarse grain wood with ornate iron hinges on the doors, and braided iron rings on the drawers. The Salvos refused to take our old particle board buffet – said it would collapse in transport! There’s no chance our new hacienda-style wood sideboard will do that – it’s so heavy and sturdy it’s a wonder the delivery team didn’t slip any discs.

Another way into a culture is through fashion. I’m most intrigued by the gaucho bags, gaucho gloves, and gaucho pants I’ve seen on the web. Guapo has already decided he’s buying a pair of gaucho pants in Uruguay. The photos here are of gaucho pants for women. You’d need long legs to look good in those! Gaucho bags, made to look like the saddles used by gauchos, look fabulous. If I can find one that is roomy enough for a water bottle and lunchbox, I’ll buy one. My current lunchbag (I take my own food wherever I go) is a black cosmetics bag with a wide strap. Valuables always go in a small backpack (safer that way).

Bye for now!
Guapita



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb