all things must come to an end


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Diablo
April 6th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My last entry I had just arrived in Bariloche. Bariloche is what i would call the main hub for travelers setting out to Patagonia. It is a beautiful little town set around a large lake and surrounded by breathtaking snow capped mountains. With all the mountains and lakes in the area it's a haven for trekking enthusiasts. Myself along with Jim and his girlfriend Jynx hiked some of the near by mountains and apart from the cold winds coming off the lakes I enjoyed it but I was finding that I just wasn't that impressed. I had followed the Andes mountains nearly their entire length and I think by then it was a bit of over kill. With my Patagonian adventure just beginning I was forced to make some heavy decisions. Continue south through Patagonia or go north to sun and beaches......ok I lied........it wasn't that tough of a decision. I needed sun!
Before I headed north I decided to spend a little more time with Jim an Jynx, so from Bariloche we rented a car for a few days and drove 4 hours through the lake district to a small town named Junin. Patagonia is world famous for many things and one of them is the abundance of spectacular trout filled streams. I had never been fly fishing before, and was eager to give it a go. The three of us found a guide with all the equipment and agreed on a half day of fishing, and some lessons. The wind was strong, so I am going to go with that as my official excuse as to why I didn't catch anything...in fact the closest thing to a set of lips that my fly came to was when I lost control of my line in the wind and the hook came back in my face, hooking myself on my cheek. Yeah I really sucked at fly fishing! But it was fun and the scenery was spectacular so it wasn't a total loss.
After a great St. Patties day in an Irish pub, the three of us caught an overnight bus directly east to Puerto Madryn. Madryn is a larger sea side city with no real tourist appeal apart from it's large national park just an hour away. The park is a huge peninsula that is loaded with domestic wildlife like sheep, llamas, and horses across a flat
BarilocheBarilocheBariloche

trekking in Bariloche
windswept plain. The park itself is actually really boring and the real stars of the show lie along the coast. The beaches are packed full of sea lions, penguins, armadillos, and gigantic elephant seals. We rented a car again and drove around the island checking out the abundance of wildlife. The park has loads of animals to see but the biggest attraction unfortunately didn't show up while we were there. Between the months of February, March and April Orca whales can be spotted sliding on to the beach to munch on sea lions. People sit and wait for weeks for this to happen.....we waited about 5 minutes and bought the souvenir poster instead.
We returned to Buenos Aires on Wed. and I was eager to keep going north but I then found out that on Sunday the most intense rivalry's in the soccer world was about to be rekindled. The 2 Buenas Aires clubs, Bocas Juniors and River Plate have battled each other for decades and the fans have brewed a passionate hatred for one another. It's one of those places that you don't tell mom about before going. We arrived an hour before game time and found some
BarilocheBarilocheBariloche

trekking in Bariloche
tickets from a scalper for about 70 bucks a piece, which by South American standards is an absolute fortune, but we snatched up the tickets and headed for the gates. The line to enter the building was long and slow but the singing from the fans inside the stadium got louder and louder as we neared the gates, continually building up the anticipation. When we got in we were just minutes before the players were entering the pitch. With no seats left we were stuck with standing room at the very top of the bleachers, which was fine because it gave us a great view of the pitch and the absolute lunacy that goes on in the bleachers. As the visiting team River entered the pitch they were bombarted by rolls of paper and other debri. That was just the beginning. After about 5 more minutes of singing and paper pelting by the fans, the home team rushed on to the pitch. The fans went nuts and the air was filled with tiny bits of paper and blue and yellow smoke. It was intense! The match itself was pretty average with both teams playing pretty sloppy, and River finally capitalizing
BarilocheBarilocheBariloche

St. Patties day
near the end of the first half. With Boca losing 2 players due to fouls it was looking like a loss for the home side, then with just minutes left a Boca player broke through a defender and was tripped up as he was about to make a shot on goal. Boca was then magically awarded a free kick and the striker burried it with ease and the fans erupted. I have never felt such a rush of energy like it. The entire lower section behind the goal rushed at the fence and from our view it looked like a massive wave. I could only imagine the amount of people injured. The game ended in a 1-1 tie but was clearly a win from the Boca side. The River section of fans Were let out first so they could get a running start, and as they left the bleachers they set fires to the seats. Loco!!!!
The next day I bought a bus ticket for the 18 hour bus ride to Iguazu. Iguazu falls are one of the most impressive falls in the world. They fall in some areas to 270 feet and in total there are about 250
BarilocheBarilocheBariloche

yeah st patties day was a good time
differen't cascades that flow down the gigantic horse shoe. The Falls along with the 2 mile wide river act as a natural border between Argentina and Brazil. I only visited the Argentine side of the falls and it took me a full day to walk around visiting the dozens of differen't view points. I was astounded at the sheer size and majesticness of the site. Niagara is beautiful, but with Iguazu being nearly 4 times it's size and a natural jungle surrounding it, there is no comparison.
With just 10 days left, my plan was to leave Iguazu, and cross the border to Uruguay and soak up the sun on their many beach destinations. There were no buses to Uruguay so for the third time on this trip I headed to Buenos Aires. I arrived in B.A. and took the first ferry across the river to Colonia. A charming little town that was battled over for centuries by the first Jesuit settlers, the Portugese, and the Spanish. One day of checking out the sites in Colonia was plenty enough and the next day I headed to Punta Del Este. Punta is a top vacation destination for Argentine's in the summer months, but with a month into the off season it was pretty quiet, with mostly retirees. The beaches are great and there were lots of good restaurants but it's kind of like going to the biggest night club on an off night and there are about 10 people there. So I left after a uneventful weekend to a small fishing village near the border to Brazil named Punta Diablo. My first thoughts were get me out of here. I think I saw tumblweeds breezing by. It was so quiet! I finally found a another human being and asked him where I could stay for the night. He set me up with a small cottage just steps from the beach. The beach stretches for miles and was completely empty. I soaked up some sun and after my 8 oclock nap I headed to a restaurant. I went to the first place I saw, and finally found other people. It's now 5 days later and I am still here. I have discovered one of my favourite places in South America. I have met some great people here and during the day we sit on the beach or go sand boarding, and then at night everyone gathers at one of the 2 restaurants for a meal and drinks. It's one of those unexpected places that turn out to be a gem! However it is all coming to an end. Tomorrow I will say good by to my friends here and travel to the capital of Uruguay named Montevideo. Just one night there and then I'll take the ferry across to Buenos Aires for one last weekend with my friends there, before I head home on Monday!
It's been quite a long journey to say the least. 6 months through 11 countries, by the end it will be 7 plane rides, some where near 18 full days on buses, jeep rides, train rides, cars, boats, canoes, rafts, mopeds, bicycles, 1 pair of sandles, 2 pairs of flip flops, 2 pairs of runners. And now..................... now I think I am ready to go home...........................................................................for a bit!
Thanx for everyone's support along the way. I have really appreciated every comment! Hope all is well wherever you are, and I hope to see you soon!




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Puerto MadrynPuerto Madryn
Puerto Madryn

Asmadillo
Puerto MadrynPuerto Madryn
Puerto Madryn

Sea lion Colony


7th April 2006

can't wait to see you on the 11th
hey Troy, I know that you have had an amazing journey and yes all things must come to end for a short time. I'm sure travelling has not ended for you. We are all proud of your accomplishment Troy and can't wait to hear all the stories. (I'm curious about that hand picture in Colonia Del Sacrement in the sand, is it real or a sculpture...???) email me your itinerary, please. safe trip home , love mom
16th August 2007

Thanks
I really enjoyed your blog. I have traveled a bit and I marveled at your stamina. Those bus trips are brutal, yet you never seemed to hesitate to tackle another one for unknown destinations. Good work on the blog - although it is quite a tease for this currently desk bound mom. Cheri

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb