One week later, a week of many new faces, experiences, flavors and old feelings...


Advertisement
Published: March 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Where to start, well I guess food is a good topic. As I was told by lots of people it is a meat oriented culture over here. One day in the office I offered salad to one of the colleagues, his answer was: "I do not eat the food of my food - e.g. grass eaten by cows". But what I find odd is, that their favorite food is Sushi - Everywhere you get Sushi.

The office life is also very different from home. For instance the hours are longer, the commuting is challenging without a car and the people are extremely helpful and friendly. At lunch everybody meets in the kitchen where the food delivery gets dished out to plates. For about 1 hour you sit together chatting and eating.

It is a very family oriented culture, there I definitely struggle having left behind me the pile of shattered dreams.

Today I had a look at an apartment, which looks promising – still needs some cleaning (it is brand new) and furniture. To give you an idea of how friendly the people over here are… They guy who showed me the flat, offered to drive me back to the hotel and on the way he decided that he must give me a tour of the city, even though he had an appointment. It was so cool. The afternoon I decided to go for a run along the beach in my Vibrams since the weather is very nice with temperature around 25 degrees.

Hopefully I have Wi-Fi in the hotel next week so I can post a few pictures of my business trip to Santiago de Chile. Yes, I am off further down south tomorrow for a quick visit in the office to show my face to the new colleagues over there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.1kb