Uruguay: a lot to love, a million little things that suck (blood).


Advertisement
Published: January 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Not thinking too much about it, I hopped a boat and ended up in Uruguay. I arrived in Montevideo around 7pm Sunday Dia de Los Reyes. I ended up in a parade, not at a parade, in a parade of traditional drumming and dancing. We did not stop until well into the night. Yesterday, my heart and mind were in San Francisco. 6500 miles can't stop me from being a mom. I managed to wander around the city, see a very nice exhibit of black and white photos from the 80s, eat some veggie paella, and sing traditional Argentinian/ Brazilian songs poolside for the evening. I passed the day today at the beach, where the fish were jumping right next to me. I stood out as a tourist because I didn't have my mate tea and thermos of hot water.

There is however a plague of mosquitos. Unprecedented numbers of mosquitoes have invaded Montevideo and repellent is useless.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Uruguayans and mate teaUruguayans and mate tea
Uruguayans and mate tea

Characteristically caring around their mate and thermos of hot water.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb