Mate o Nada! (Mate or Nothing)


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Uruguay was my last stop in the 6 weeks tour of South America. I wasn’t expecting too much here but was inspired by the lovely people of Uruguay. I took the ferry from Buenos Aires to Colonial, Uruguay. It was an hour ride; I used Colonial Express ferry service instead of the Busquebus ferry service. Colonial express was half the price of Busquebus. I spent about four hours exploring Colonial – it would be such a nice city in the summer. Then I took the 2.5hours bus to Montevideo.

Immediately, I fell in love with Montevideo. The city is not fancy or big like Buenos Aires but it is pretty in its own way. The people are much nicer as well. I stayed in a really great hostel – Impeccable Hostel- very close (2 blocks) to the Plaza independencia and the old city.

One thing you would notice in Uruguay is the love for Mate. Mate is a drink made from loose leaves. Everybody (well almost) had a flask of hot water and mate in their hands on the street of Montevideo.

I took my time exploring the city; I had 6 days here so I wasn’t in a rush. I also frequented local bars with some folks from Montevideo. One night we tried going salsa dancing but ended up in a techno club (I’m not a fan).

The coolest thing was I met two Nigerians on the street of Montevideo. I enjoy meeting Nigerians whenever I travel.

Enjoy the fotos


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Sad 'Chocolate Drink'Sad 'Chocolate Drink'
Sad 'Chocolate Drink'

In Chile, Argentina & Uruguay - if you ask for Hot Chocolate, they give you a cup of hot milk and put a bar of chocolate in it
Afro-Uruguayn art exhibition Afro-Uruguayn art exhibition
Afro-Uruguayn art exhibition

Another painting by Mary Portos Casas
Tribute to the AncestorsTribute to the Ancestors
Tribute to the Ancestors

Painting by Painting by Mary Portos Casas - tribute to their Yoruba (one of the ethnic groups of West Africa) ancestors that were stolen and brought to the Americas to be ensalved
Painting of God & MatePainting of God & Mate
Painting of God & Mate

Impeccable Hostel - Montevideo
Trash CollectorTrash Collector
Trash Collector

The horse is responsible for collecting Plastic and cans
Mate standMate stand
Mate stand

Montevideo
18 de Julio18 de Julio
18 de Julio

Main street in Montevideo
Yet another Mate standYet another Mate stand
Yet another Mate stand

This is a common sight in Montevideo


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb