Sunday Sunday


Advertisement
Published: February 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1-22-12 Sunday

When we woke it started to pour, so we ran through the yard to the kitchen where Richard was playing guitar with some friends and other guests of the hostel. We sat over some Mate and waited for the storm to pass before paying our bills and hitting the road. The ride back was just as long if not longer then the ride there. I passed out in the back seat (big surprise) and woke 15 minutes before arriving in Montevideo. The rest of the day was spent in the living room of Francisco’s house while we watched Italian soccer and prepared dinner. Sundays seem quiet here in Uruguay, we drove through the city on our way home and there was hardly anyone in the streets, it seems as they take their rest seriously here. Tomorrow we leave for Rivera, I have no idea what to expect so no expectations are good expectations. I guess I can’t get disappointed and it only leaves room for surprise. Tonight’s dinner was composed of pasta with tomatoes, zucchini, and onions. Jodi told me that it was a past heavy country… In reality it is a meat heavy country, but pasta would be the second most consumed food here. I haven’t seen too many veggies on the menu, at least not as of the first few days here. Even in my adventure in the supermarcado the vegetables seemed lacking the same delicious display that we have here. In fact they were tucked away in the corner, almost nowhere to be found. There was a lot of hard work for a tomato and some lettuce. And fish seems out of the question here. I haven’t seen it offered yet, even in the little beach town. I definitely wish that I had a huge piece of fish before I left rather than a huge burger that kept me up all night, it also could have been my nerves, but I will blame the burger. It will be an early night tonight because we are up at 7 to meet the boys and start the five hour drive to Rivera.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb