Recap from Uruguay


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

1. Tres Cruces Bus Terminal 2/3. Av. 18 de Julio 4. Plaza Independencia 5. My hostal in Ciudad Vieja 6. The whisky bar

I decided to spend a night in Montevideo, Uruguay during my visit to Buenos Aires, Argentina. They aren't that far apart and I got a few more stamps in my passport!

I woke up in my hostel at what I thought was 6:00am but it turns out that I forgot to switch my phone/alarm clock's time ahead an hour so it was actually 7:00am. I ran to catch a cab and had trouble getting them to understand me but finally go one and made it to the dock in time to catch the next Buquebus, a ferry/bus company that specializes in travel between Montevideo and Buenos Aires. I waited in the terminal for about an hour then boarded. The ferry took about 3 hours if I remember correctly and dropped me off in the tourist trap that is Colonia. I didn't have time to look around as I had to catch my transfer to Montevideo but no wish I had just stayed in Colonia. It had a lot of history and very beautiful architecture and landscape. Instead I made the 2-hour bus ride to the largest city in Uruguay.

During the busride I met a nice woman and made some conversation. I eventually needed a pen but didn't have one and asked her for one. She fished through her purse for about 3 minutes and retrieved a little keychain pen. I began to work on a crossword puzzle. about 45 minutes later her stop came up. I tried to return her pen but she gave it to me as a gift. It was a very nice gesture.

I arrived in Montevideo at the Tres Cruces Terminal which I had thought was much closer to the city center when I began to walk there. After about 40 minutes I reached the street on the edge of my map and could actually see where I was going. I had been walking down a street (18 de Julio, I think) which happened to be the main street in Montevideo. I arrived at the center, bought a few souvenirs and found a hostal. After that, the lady working the front desk at the hostal gave me a small tour of Ciudad Vieja or Old Town. This part of town is the oldest and looks that way. Much of Montevideo has been modernized and little of its historic architecture is left but Old Town remains including the old arch from the city wall. There is also a beautifully renovated theater in Old Town whose name I cannot remember right now.

After the tour I continued through the city looking for a bite to eat. I found a little bakery/café and had a ham and corn sandwich. It was delicious! Those of you that know what corn pudding is, imagine it on a sandwich with a thick slab of ham. It was getting kinda late and I was becoming a bit bored so after a short walk along the waterfront I went to a whiskey bar where I met 2 Chileans that are in Uruguay studying theater, art, and performance art. We talked for a few hours then went to a club. The club happend to be reserved for a private birthday party. The Chileans knew the woman and the entrance fee was simply to be wearing a hat (which I was) and so we got in and had free cake and whiskey. It was a great night and a slept soundly.

The next day a Uruguayo that was with us the night before took me out to a café for breakfast then showed me a little bit more of the downtown area before we headed to the docks. I thanked him for everything and boarded my ferry to Buenos Aires. This time it was a single ferry direct to Buenos Aires in 3 hours. It was like a jet on water. I had a great experience in Uruguay but the glass towers of Buenos Aires and the knowledge that my friends were waiting for me somewhere in this bussling town was comforting.

Unfortunately, in my hurried morning on the way to Uruguay I forgot my camera so I don't have any pictures.

Hope all is well with everyone!

Advertisement



28th July 2009

Stay!
Did you go to the Sexual Minority Plaza? It's the only one in Latin America from what I hear. Also, did you have their calorie-filled national sandwich? Finally, stay in Buenos Aires for a little while longer. I arrive a week from Wednesday!
3rd August 2009

Uruguay
Fun to hear about your adventures, Zach!!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb