Huanchacho, Peru, Northern Coast


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Trujillo
March 30th 2011
Published: March 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We are now in Huanchaco, a beachside village in Northern Peru. It´s really relaxed here so I´m excited to be finally back up to date on bloggy!

We met a couple of local guys Eduardo and Diego on the first night when we went for a wander into town. They took us to a great cheap little place for dinner and arranged our following day for us. Eduardo runs a local surf school so guess what we did yesterday! SURFING!

But before the surfing we went to the local fresh food market (although that makes it sound way too glorified) and bought the ingredients for Ceviche. We took it all back to Eduardos surf school and he taught us how to make Ceviche! I´ve had it once in Australia before but this was amazing - we were both a little worried as we saw where the shark actually came from but I live another day to tell the tale. It´s the first time I have cooked anything in 6 weeks - was great to get the hands dirty - I miss it!

As for the surfing, it´s a perfect beginners wave and I was standing on my second attempt - I´m a star in my own undies as Nicole always tells me! By the end of the lesson I was doing handstands on the board....Not really but I was riding the waves all the way into shore. So much fun! I´m definitely buying a very buoyant longboard when I get home. I had fogotten how much fun it is and actually had never really had a proper lesson which makes such a difference. Eduardo came out with us and helped us onto the waves. Yelled at us when it was time to stand up and cheered us on when we did a good job - good guy. Diego stood on the shore and got some photos so there is proof amigos!

Tomorrow we move on, further up the coast to Mancora, hopefully for even warmer weather and more surfing, I´m hooked.

Love you long time! Ciao for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Practice timePractice time
Practice time

It looks like Kung fu doesn´t it!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb