Puno and Lake Titicaca


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Puno » Puno
January 9th 2010
Published: January 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Islas FlotantesIslas FlotantesIslas Flotantes

Uros people awaiting our arrival
We said goodbye to Cory and Cusco on the morning of the 27th and headed for Puno and Lake Titicaca. I've been told that Lake Titicaca is best seen from the Bolivian side, and I think I can see why now. Puno is nice enough, but doesn't really compare to Bolivia's port of Copacabana (at least from what I've seen in pictures and other blogs). But Americans have to pay around $150 to get the Bolivian visa, and we didn't feel it was worth it for only a couple of days.
Our first night there was pretty low-key... we sat in our hostel, watched TV, and drank tea. We left the next morning around 6:30AM for a boat tour of the lake.
It took about an hour to reach our first destination, Islas Flotantes (the Floating Islands). These islands are built by the Uros people by cutting and layering a kind of reed called totora. They have to continually layer more reeds on top, as the bottom layers rot away. The Uros use totora for everything from boats to homes to crafts, and it can even be eaten (tastes like lettuce).
It was pretty cool to see, but the whole thing
Gateway archGateway archGateway arch

Islas Flotantes
has become so touristy that it almost has a Disney feel to it. As I said to Sun Mi and Laurie, it made me feel like I was visiting a new addition to the World Showcase at Epcot. The guide would say, "See how a traditional woman spends her day on the islands," and on cue, the woman would run over, plop down, and begin sewing... And of course, you could buy whatever she was making!

For what it's worth, it's certainly an experience and others may appreciate it more than me; I'm not trying to discourage anyone from going -- I'm just giving my impression of it.

After Islas Flotantes, we continued for another 2.5 hours to reach Isla Taquile. There isn't much to do, unless you opt to do an overnight homestay, but the views of the lake are quite breathtaking. Due to our tight schedule, we pretty much just got off the boat, walked to the top of the island (which is also the center of town), had lunch, and then walked down the opposite side, where we got back on the boat and set sail back to Puno.

The following day Laurie headed
Cute kidsCute kidsCute kids

Islas Flotantes
back to Cusco and Sun Mi and I took a bus to Arequipa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Uros boat Uros boat
Uros boat

Made out of totora reeds
TransportationTransportation
Transportation

Islas Flotantes
FloraFlora
Flora

Isla Taquile
Local girlLocal girl
Local girl

Isla Taquile
CutieCutie
Cutie

Isla Taquile


10th January 2010

howdy
Loving the story and pictures! I was bragging about you yesterday to Andrea. ;) You go, world traveler! Miss you!
10th January 2010

Gar-jus!
As always, your shots are beautiful! Miss you! And your cat misses you too!
11th January 2010

i'm giggling
so since your mom's already viewed and commented on this entry i'm going to guess she's not going to read this comment. therefore i can say this: teehee, you said titi. heeheehee, caca. oh you dirty.
11th January 2010

giggling at the title
I'm jealous that you got to use "Titicaca" and "Copacabana" in the same blog entry. I giggle every time I say the words in my mind as I'm reading.
11th January 2010

conqueringcontinents
I hitchhiked through Latin America in the 70s, took six months, and went all the way down to Ushuaia. Your blog reminded me of the toughest part of the whole trip - hitchhiking around Lake Titicaca. I walked in the rain for about two hours, and what few cars there were, most of them didn't bother to stop. Then a car with two Belgians coming in the opposite direction stopped and gave me some candy, just to encourage me, I guess. By the time I reached Puno it was getting dark. I went to the local police station, and they were kind enough to put me up - it might have even been in a jail cell. Several years later, now married, Debbie and I spent a night voluntarily in a jail cell in Nouakchott, Mauritania. I wish you many more happy travelin' days. Eb
11th January 2010

Eb
Thanks for the comment! I'm so jealous of you (with or without the jail cell)! I would love to spend more time down here.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb